Jefferson Airplane The Essential Jefferson Airplane (2-CD)

The Essential Jefferson Airplane (2-CD)
6 ratings
Only 10 copies left
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.94
You Save: $0.37 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  H65S
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.112
4 stars out of 5 - "[T]heir music sounded like a supercharged folk-rock strain with a pronounced blues influence..."
Dirty Linen - pp.89-90
"Some tracks remain classics....This is a good overview of the work of an important American band."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Blues from an Airplane
  • Buy for $0.992.It's No Secret
  • Buy for $0.993.Come Up the Years
  • Buy for $0.994.She Has Funny Cars
  • Buy for $1.295.Somebody to Love
  • Buy for $0.996.Comin' Back to Me
  • Buy for $0.997.Embryonic Journey
  • Buy for $0.698.White Rabbit
  • Buy for $0.999.The Ballad of You and Me and Pooneil
  • Buy for $0.9910.Martha - (single version)
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Last Wall of the Castle
  • Buy for $0.9912.Watch Her Ride
  • Buy for $0.9913.Lather
  • Buy for $0.9914.Crown of Creation
  • Buy for $0.9915.Greasy Heart
  • Buy for $0.9916.Share a Little Joke - (single version)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.3/5 of a Mile in 10 Seconds - (live)
  • Buy for $0.992.Plastic Fantastic Lover - (live)
  • Buy for $0.993.We Can Be Together
  • Buy for $0.994.Good Shepherd
  • Buy for $0.995.Wooden Ships
  • Buy for $0.996.Eskimo Blue Day
  • Buy for $0.997.Volunteers
  • Buy for $0.998.Have You Seen the Saucers - (single version)
  • Buy for $0.999.Mexico - (single version)
  • Buy for $0.9910.When the Earth Moves Again
  • Buy for $0.9911.Pretty as You Feel
  • Buy for $0.9912.Third Week in the Chelsea
  • Buy for $0.9913.Long John Silver
  • Buy for $0.9914.Twilight Double Leader
  • 15.Feel So Good - (live)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Milk Train - (live)

Product Description:

Jefferson Airplane: Paul Kantner (vocals, guitar); Marty Balin, Grace Slick (vocals); Jorma Kaukonen (guitar); Jack Casady (bass guitar); Spencer Dryden (drums).
Additional personnel: Nicky Hopkins (piano); Stephen Stills (organ); Joey Covington (percussion); David Crosby, Marilyn Hunt, Diane Hursh, Mary Gannon, Denise Jewkes (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Jeff Tamarkin.
Recording information: Fillmore West, San Francisco, CA (12/18/1965-09/22/1972).
Photographer: Jim Marshall .
Arranger: Jorma Kaukonen.
RCA/Legacy's 32-track Jefferson Airplane retrospective focuses on the influential psychedelic rock collective's late-'60s/early-'70s heydays. From 1966 (Jefferson Airplane Takes Off) through 1972 (Thirty Seconds Over Winterland), the group released nine albums that effectively shadowed the era, blending social themes with drugs, paranoia, and youthful rebellion/revolution. Essential may be a bit much for the casual fan, as its two discs delve deep into the group's eclectic catalog, stacking lost gems like "Eskimo Blue Day" and "Third Week in the Chelsea" alongside radio staples like "Somebody to Love," "White Rabbit," and "Volunteers," but those who are willing to take the plunge will be rewarded with the band's most thorough, informative, and thoughtfully paced anthology to date. ~ James Christopher Monger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jefferson Airplane

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,600
  • UPC: 828766791723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)