Hawkwind Hall of the Mountain Grill [UK Bonus Tracks]

Hall of the Mountain Grill [UK Bonus Tracks]
19% OFF
Rating 4.8
21 ratings
List Price: $14.98
Sale Price: $13.48
CYBER SALE: $12.13 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.85 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  EMTL 530035
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for an e-mail Gift Certificate

CD Details

  • Released: August 20, 2001
  • Label: Emd Int'l

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 7/96, p.138
3 Stars - Good - "...the slicker sound of a band about to sack the blackhearted Lemmy....[includes] unreleased stuff...excellently packaged...and all-too 'faar aht'..."
NME (Magazine) - 4/27/96, p.51
6 (out of 10) - "...[Hawkwind] moved away from noise jams and underground politics to...just another rock band....Lemmy's 'Lost Johnny' is almost a precursor to the Motorhead sound..."


  • 1.Psychedelic Warlords - (studio)
  • 2.Winds Of Change - (studio)
  • 3.D Rider - (studio)
  • 4.Web Weaver - (studio)
  • 5.You'd Better Believe It - (studio)
  • 6.Hall Of The Mountain Grill - (studio)
  • 7.Lost Johnny - (studio)
  • 8.Goat Willow - (studio)
  • 9.Paradox - (studio)
  • 10.You'd Better Believe It (Single Version) - (studio)
  • 11.Osychedelic Warlords (Disappear In Smoke) - (studio)
  • 12.Paradox (Remix Single Edit) - (studio)
  • 13.It's So Easy - (studio)

Product Description:

Hawkwind: Dave Brock (guitar, synthesizer, organ, vocals); Nik Turner (saxophone, oboe, flute, vocals); Simon House (keyboards, violin); Del Dettmar (keyboards, synthesizer); Lemmy (bass, vocals, guitar); Simon King (drums, percussion).
All songs written or co-written by members of Hawkwind.
Personnel: Dave Brock (vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar, organ, synthesizer); Lemmy (vocals, guitar); Nik Turner (vocals, flute, oboe, saxophone); Simon House (violin, keyboards, synthesizer); Del Dettmar (keyboards, synthesizer, kalimba); Simon King (drums, percussion).
Recording information: Edmonton Sundown (01/26/1974-06/??/1974); Olympic Studios, Barnes, London, England (01/26/1974-06/??/1974).
HALL OF THE MOUNTAIN GRILL found Hawkwind pushing the thudding hard rock of their early albums into the sci-fi influenced soundscapes that would define their legendary sound. In fact, this 1974 album is something of a prog rock classic, given everything from its futuristic cover to the sounds of mellotron, synthesizer, harpsichord, and flute interspersed among the overdriven guitars.
Hawkwind were pioneers in the first wave of space rock, and their sound often draws comparisons to Pink Floyd's music of the same era. But for all their cosmic meanderings and Tolkien imagery, Hawkwind rocked hard (Lemmy, who later went on to form Motorhead, was a member of the band), and HALL OF THE MOUNTAIN GRILL is full of driving, fuzzed-out guitar songs that perfectly balance the touches of ethereal psychedelia. With that in mind, this heralded effort should please fans of prog, psych, and early-'70s metal; and for fans of space rock proper--it's a must.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Hawkwind

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 102,002
  • UPC: 724353003524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Rock & Pop: Art Rock Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre: