Ralph Sutton The Second Set (Live)

The Second Set (Live)
2 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  KA7F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 25, 2001
  • Label: Gaslight


  • 1.Sleep
  • 2.Moonglow
  • 3.Basin Street Blues
  • 4.Perdido
  • 5.Love Me - (take 2)
  • 6.Shine
  • 7.Love Lies
  • 8.Gone With the Wind
  • 9.Tea For Two
  • 10.Sweet & Lovely
  • 11.If Dreams Come True
  • 12.Honky Tonk Train Blues - (recorded in 1950, bonus track, with Meade Lux Lewis)

Product Description:

Personnel: Ralph Sutton (piano); Jack Lesberg (bass); Frank Capp (drums).
Recorded live at Backstage Bistro, St. Louis, Missouri on March 2-4, 1999.
Ralph Sutton was one of the few living masters of stride piano by the time this night club engagement was recorded in St. Louis. This is the second volume of music recorded during his March, 1999, gig at the Backstage Bistro, but it is by no means inferior to the earlier Gaslight CD. Accompanied by two seasoned veterans, bassist Jack Lesberg and drummer Frank Capp, Sutton is in top form. One doesn't normally think of "Moonglow" as part of a stride pianist's repertoire, but Sutton's jaunty interpretation should prompt other practitioners to include it in their books. "Basin Street Blues" features a delightful call-and-response between the artist and Lesberg in its introduction before the leader takes over to work his magic with this jazz standard. The pianist also is featured on several delightful solos, including an alternate take of "Love Me" (a tune all but forgotten by most jazz musicians), a tantalizing performance of "Love Lies," a jubilant "Tea for Two," plus the added bonus of a private recording made in 1950, in a fan's home, of Sutton's romp through the boogie woogie classic "Honky Tonk Train Blues." Highly recommended! ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ralph Sutton

Product Info

  • UPC: 702783500226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)