Duran Duran Rio (Import-UKLP) (With Remix LP)

Rio (Import-UKLP) (With Remix LP)
38% OFF
Rating 4.5
164 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $44.98
You Save: $16.98 (38% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: Vinyl LP  (2 Records)
Item:  EMI 34111
on most orders of $75
New Condition
Amazon sells this Vinyl LP for $38.12, buying at OLDIES.com saves you 27%
This is the price to buy directly from Amazon.com or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on November 26, 2014. Amazon is a registered trademark of Amazon.com, Inc.

Related products:

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 2
  • Released:
  • Label: Capitol

Description by OLDIES.com:

Remastered 2009 import re-issue of their 1982 smash album! Features the original UK LP plus a second LP with original US album remixes. Highlights include 'Rio," "Save A Prayer," "My Own Way," "The Chauffeur" and "Hungry Like The Wolf". Limited edition Double Vinyl.

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.104
"[T]he Durannies take new-romantic pop to the masses with lush, synth-driven choruses and lavish videos..."
Q - 6/00, p.61
Ranked #98 in Q's "100 Greatest British Albums" - "...Defined early '80s aspirational glamour, comprising 9 trashily addictive tunes..."
Magnet - p.114
"[T]he Taylors, drummer Roger and guitarist Andy, laid down an aggressively grooving foundation over which vocalist Simon LeBon and keyboardist Nick Rhodes dropped candy-coated bits of melody and insouciant jet-set attitude."
CMJ - 1/5/04, p.10
Ranked #13 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1982".
CMJ - 1/5/04, p.10
Ranked #1 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1982".
Q (Magazine) - p.125
4 stars out of 5 -- "Originally released in 1982, today both the Chic-inspired basslines and aspirational lyrics of RIO seem utterly contemporary..."
Pitchfork (Website) - "RIO isn't just front-loaded with some of the era's most bulldozing hits, it's still Duran's best shot at an artistic legacy."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.85
5 stars out of 5 -- "1982's RIO was and remains one of the 80s' finest pop statements..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.84
3 stars out of 5 -- "Duran Duran gave some thought to their 12" singles...[and] -- the biggest achievement of all -- laying down mixes which don't sound embarrassing two decades later."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rio
  • 2.My Own Way
  • 3.Lonely in Your Nightmare
  • 4.Hungry Like the Wolf
  • 5.Hold Back the Rain
  • 6.New Religion
  • 7.Last Chance on the Stairway
  • 8.Save a Prayer
  • 9.The Chauffeur
  • 10.Rio [Us Album Remix]
  • 11.My Own Way [Carnival Remix]
  • 12.Lonely in Your Nightmare [Us Album Remix]
  • 13.Hungry Like the Wolf [Us Album Remix]
  • 14.Hold Back the Way [Us Album Remix]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Last Chance on the Stairway [Demo Version]
  • 2.My Own Way [Demo Version]
  • 3.New Religion [Demo Version]
  • 4.Like an Angel [Demo Version]
  • 5.My Own Way [Original 7" Version]
  • 6.Like an Angel
  • 7.Careless Memories [Live]
  • 8.The Chauffeur (Blue Silver) [Early Version]
  • 9.My Own Way [Night Version]
  • 10.Hungry Like the Wolf [Night Version]
  • 11.Rio [Night Version]
  • 12.New Religion [Carnival Remix]
  • 13.Hold Back the Rain [Carnival Remix]

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced CD which contains regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files, including the videos for "Rio," "Hungry Like The Wolf" and "Save A Prayer."
Duran Duran: Simon Le Bon (vocals); Andy Taylor (guitar); Nick Rhodes (keyboards); John Taylor (bass); Roger Taylor (drums).
Additional personnel: Andy Hamilton (saxophone).
Recorded at Air, London, England in 1982. Includes liner notes by Simon LeBon and Nick Rhodes.
Digitally remastered by Tony Cousins.
The artistic progression from the band's self-titled debut to the following year's RIO was the greatest aesthetic leap of Duran Duran's career. The group moved from catchy but somewhat rudimentary New Romantic synth-funk to elegantly arranged, sophisticated pop-rock, concentrating more on song structure than dance beats. For their efforts, they were rewarded with superstar status, due chiefly to "Hungry Like the Wolf," a lascivious tune that injects a welcome dose of rock & roll guitar. The most impressive tracks on RIO, though, are the more contemplative, balladic offerings, like "Lonely in Your Nightmare," "Save a Prayer," and especially "The Chauffer," with its stream-of-consciousness lyrics and unconventional structure, arty without seeming pretentious. If you only have one Duran Duran album, it should be RIO.

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Duran Duran

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 40,650
  • UPC: 5099968454715
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Capitol Labels: