Echo & The Bunnymen Ocean Rain [Bonus Tracks]

Ocean Rain [Bonus Tracks]
20 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.83 Limited Time Only
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.16 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YDH4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 3, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.120
4 stars out of 5 -- "Pushing acoustic guitars to the fore on three songs...the band employed a far more direct compositional approach, with Ian McCulloch's lyrics eschewing doomy portent for universal human connection."
Mojo (Publisher) - 12/03, pp.129-30
4 stars out of 5 - "Effervescent songs, sympathetically orchestrated..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.90
5 stars out of 5 -- "A disparate, one-off masterpiece in an already amazing oeuvre, OCEAN RAIN was an album of unparalleled scope and ornateness..."
Uncut (magazine)
4 stars out of 5 -- "[P]sychedelic sex shanties, crooned beneath a Sinatra moon and swathed in the Parisian strings of Piaf and Brel."


  • 1.Silver
  • 2.Nocturnal Me
  • 3.Crystal Days
  • 4.The Yo-Yo Man
  • 5.Thorn of Crowns
  • 6.The Killing Moon
  • 7.Seven Seas
  • 8.My Kingdom
  • 9.Ocean Rain
  • 10.Angels and Devils
  • 11.All You Need Is Love - (from "Life At Brian's")
  • 12.Killing Moon, The - (from "Life At Brian's")
  • 13.Stars Are Stars - (from "Life At Brian's")
  • 14.Villiers Terrace - (from "Life At Brian's")
  • 15.Silver - (previously unreleased, from "Life At Brian's")
  • 16.My Kingdom - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 17.Ocean Rain - (previously unreleased, live)

Product Description:

Echo & The Bunnymen: Ian McCulloch (vocals, guitar); Will Sergeant (guitar); Les Pattinson (bass); Pete De Freitas (drums).
Additional personnel: Adam Peters (cello, piano).
Recorded at Les Studio Des Dames, Paris, France and Amazon Studios, Liverpool, England. Originally released on Sire (25084). Includes
liner notes by Max Bell.
Personnel: Ian McCulloch (vocals); Will Sergeant (guitar, sitar, harpsichord); Adam Peters (cello, piano); Luvan Kiem (clarinet); Alan Perman (harpsichord); Pete de Freitas (drums).
Audio Mixers: Echo & the Bunnymen; Gil Norton.
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Max Bell.
Recording information: Amazon Studios, Liverpool (03/18/1984-05/12/1984); Crescent Studios, Bath, Somerset, England (03/18/1984-05/12/1984); Les Studio Des Dames, Paris, France (03/18/1984-05/12/1984); Liverpool Cathedral, Liverpool (03/18/1984-05/12/1984); Studio Davout, Paris, France (03/18/1984-05/12/1984); The Automatt, San Francisco, CA (03/18/1984-05/12/1984).
Photographers: Greg Allen ; Jim Kutler; Les Pattinson.
OCEAN RAIN was modestly described as "the greatest album ever made" during it's promotional campaign. While it doesn't quite live up to this rash claim, it remains Echo and the Bunnymen's most ambitious and cohesive '80s release--a stepping stone that really should have led the band to world-wide fame. This is where the band left any traces of post-punk shambling behind and reached for the stars.
The majestic mood of the album is heightened by the extravagant string arrangements that underpin Ian McCulloch's plaintive croon. On "The Killing Moon," one of the band's finest moments, the orchestra is deployed to spectacular effect. McCulloch gives the performance of his life, while the group's often overlooked guitarist Will Sergeant plays with imaginative dexterity. Things turn spookily psychedelic during "Thorn of Crowns," with its memorable refrain "c-c-c-cucumber, c-c-c-cabbage, c-c-c-cauliflower." It's hard to tell whether McCulloch is exorcising some inner demon or just trying to remember his shopping list. Somehow, in the context of the sparkling OCEAN RAIN, it doesn't really matter.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Echo & The Bunnymen

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 89,623
  • UPC: 825646116522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.44/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)