Depeche Mode A Broken Frame

A Broken Frame
57 ratings
Price: $13.10
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.88 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YDC9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Reprise / WEA


  • 1.Leave in Silence
  • 2.My Secret Garden
  • 3.Monument
  • 4.Nothing to Fear
  • 5.See You
  • 6.Satellite
  • 7.The Meaning of Love
  • 8.Further Excerpts from: My Secret Garden - (excerpts)
  • 9.A Photograph of You
  • 10.Shouldn't Have Done That
  • 11.The Sun & The Rainfall

Product Description:

Depeche Mode: David Gahan, Alan Wilder, Martin Gore, Andy Fletcher.
Recording information: Blackwing Studios, London, England (12/1981-07/1982).
Photographer: Brian Griffin .
When pop mastermind/main songwriter Vince Clarke departed DM after the group's first album to form Yaz with Alison Moyet, it seemed like the end for the boys from Basildon, but it was really a new beginning. Martin Gore stepped forward to fill Clarke's songwriting shoes, surprising the world by taking his predecessor's catchy electro-pop approach a step further.
Lighthearted delights like "A Photograph of You" and "The Meaning of Love" show Gore's mastery of breathlessly catchy popcraft and help cement the notion of early Depeche Mode as the Beach Boys of the New Romantic era. Elsewhere though, Gore ventures further afield, both lyrically and musically. "Shouldn't Have Done That" combines sociopolitical observations with uncoventional sound collage techniques a la (don't laugh) Simon & Garfunkel's "Save the Life of My Child." "Monument" and "Satellite" suggest a darker undercurrent that would soon rise to the fore of the group's sound.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 57 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Depeche Mode

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 101,237
  • UPC: 075992375122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)