David Bromberg My Own House / You Should See the Rest of the Band

My Own House / You Should See the Rest of the Band
10 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YDVH
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Fantasy

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 2-3/00, p.57
"...demonstrates the breadth of [his] repertoire, ranging from fiddle reels, acoustic blues, Tin Pan Alley chestnuts, soul, old rock'n'roll, and r&b....Both...albums are classics and having both of them combined in this one package is a real bonus."


  • Buy for $0.991.My Own House Medley: My Own House :: Me Ain Hoose / Hangman's Reel
  • Buy for $0.992.Don't Let Your Deal Go Down Medley: Don't Let Your Deal Go Down / Roanoke / Possum Up A Gum Stump / Mississippi Sawyer
  • Buy for $0.993.Early This Morning
  • Buy for $0.994.Sheebeg And Sheemore
  • Buy for $0.995.Cocaine Blues
  • Buy for $0.996.To Know Her Is To Love Her
  • Buy for $0.997.Georgia On My Mind
  • Buy for $1.298.Chump Man Blues
  • Buy for $0.999.Kitchen Girl
  • Buy for $0.9910.Spanish Johnny
  • Buy for $0.9911.Black And Tan
  • Buy for $0.9912.Lower Left Hand Corner Of The Night
  • Buy for $0.9913.Key To The Highway
  • Buy for $0.9914.Helpless Blues
  • 15.Sharon
  • Buy for $1.2916.As The Years Go Passing By
  • Buy for $0.9917.Solid Gone
  • Buy for $0.9918.Yankee's Revenge Medley: Leather Britches / The Red-Haired Boy / Teetotaler's Reel / The Wind That Shakes The Barley / Drowsy Maggie

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by David Bromberg.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1999, Fantasy Studios).
Personnel: David Bromberg (vocals, guitar, fiddle); Dick Fegy (banjo, mandolin, fiddle); George Kindler (mandolin, fiddle).
Recorded at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California; Record Plant, Sausalito, California; The Inn Of The Beginning, Cotati, California in January & February 1978. Originally released on Fantasy (9572).
Personnel: David Bromberg (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, fiddle); Hugh McDonald (vocals, bass); Lance Dickerson (vocals, drums); Dick Fegy (acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin, fiddle); George Kindler (mandolin, fiddle, electric violin); John Firmin (flute, penny whistle, clarinet, soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones); Garth Hudson (accordion, organ); Peter Ecklund (trumpet, cornet, flugelhorn); Curtis Linberg (trombone).
Recorded at Northrop Auditorium, Minneapolis, Minnesota on March 7, 1979; the Rainbow Theater, Denver, Colorado on April 13 & 14, 1979; the Great American Music Hall, San Francisco, California on May 7 & 8, 1979. Originally released on Fantasy (9590).
Personnel: David Bromberg (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, fiddle); Lance Dickerson (vocals, drums); Hugh McDonald (vocals); Dick Fegy (guitar, banjo, mandolin, violin, fiddle); George Kindler (mandolin, violin, electric violin, fiddle); John Firmin (flute, pennywhistle, clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Garth Hudson (accordion, organ); Peter Ecklund (trumpet, cornet, flugelhorn).
Audio Mixers: George Kindler; Tom Flye.
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Recording information: Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA; Inn Of The Beginning, Cotati, C and C Beach; Record Plant, Sausalito, CA.
Arranger: Peter Ecklund.
As of the late 1990s, guitarist and fiddler David Bromberg was in musical semi-retirement, supplementing his day job (making his living buying and selling American-made violins) with the odd club gig. But in the 1970s, he had a thriving career as both a bandleader and a sideman, having played on seminal recordings by Bob Dylan, the Eagles, and Jerry Jeff Walker, among others. This disc includes two of his early albums: first, the acoustic and largely solo My Own House, on which he plays a program that ranges from traditional Scottish and American fiddle tunes through Delta blues and songs by Hoagy Carmichael and Phil Spector. Talk about Americana. The second album included on this disc couldn't be more of a contrast: You Should See the Rest of the Band is a live recording with a large and very definitely electric band. David Bromberg the rock & roll bandleader is much more inclined toward horn-driven R&B ("Key to the Highway," "Sharon"), although he does pull out the fiddle for a high-octane romp through a medley of traditional tunes at the end of the show. His singing, while not bad, isn't really worth mentioning. What stand out are his wide-ranging tastes, his instrumental chops, and his skill as a bandleader, all of which combine to make this both a valuable piece of pop music history and a thrilling listening experience. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for David Bromberg

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,309
  • UPC: 025218245227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)