David Bowie Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture [30th Anniversary] (Live) (2-CD)

Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture [30th
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YDV7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Parlophone (Wea)

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/92, p.144
4 Stars - Excellent - "...sounds as exciting and as dramatic now as it did then...a remarkable document of an unforgettable time..."
Magnet - 11/03, p.112
"...ZIGGY STARDUST is the essence of rock 'n' roll's escape..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 5/03, p.116
4 stars out of 5 - "...A little piece of history....This is heaven for Bowie fans..."
NME (Magazine) - 10/3/92, p.41
"...a time when Bowie was a needle-thin bisexual alien far stranger than anything his legions of subsequent copyists could ever hope to emulate...a gloriously bonkers piece of cynical showmanship..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Intro: (Ninth Symphony, Fourth Movement-Abridged)
  • 2.Hang on to Yourself
  • 3.Ziggy Stardust
  • 4.Watch That Man
  • 5.Wild Eyed Boy from Freecloud
  • 6.All the Young Dudes
  • 7.Oh! You Pretty Things
  • 8.Moonage Daydream
  • 9.Changes
  • 10.Space Oddity
  • 11.My Death

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Intro: (William Tell Overture - Abridged)
  • 2.Cracked Actor
  • 3.Time
  • 4.The Width of a Circle
  • 5.Let's Spend the Night Together
  • 6.Suffragette City
  • 7.White Light / White Heat
  • 8.Farewell Speech (Spoken Word)
  • 9.Rock & Roll Suicide

Product Description:

Recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon, London, England in 1973. Includes liner notes by D.A. Pennebaker.
When David Bowie killed off his fatalistic rock-star character Ziggy Stardust, he also announced his retirement from live performance. His "final" concert was filmed and the soundtrack sat on a shelf for a decade before its release in 1983. ZIGGY STARDUST -THE MOTION PICTURE is an interesting audio snapshot that represents the Ziggy Stardust arc and incorporates a few different facets of Bowie's career up to that point. Starting with the ragged, garage-rock meter of "Hang on to Yourself," Bowie introduces his beloved alien ("Ziggy Stardust"), and flirts with his flamboyant side (the medley of "Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud/All The Young Dudes/Oh! You Pretty Things").
From here, Ziggy's transition ("Changes") into messianic figure takes him through a host of rock-star realities ("Let's Spend The Night Together," "White Light/White Heat") before his meteoric rise gets snuffed out in a flash ("Rock 'N' Roll Suicide"). Throughout the performance, it is easy to see how Bowie's combination of solid rock & roll aesthetics and over-the-top theatricality eventually spawned and shaped everything from glam-rock to later developments such as punk and Madonna. This is one of Bowie's best and most underrated live performances.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for David Bowie

Product Info

  • UPC: 724358220926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)