Boozoo Chavis Down Home on Dog Hill

Down Home on Dog Hill
3 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  E7J4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - 3-4/02, pp.70,72
"...Throw this disc in your player and it's just like having a Dog Hill party of your own..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Tell We What You Want
  • Buy for $0.992.Keep Your Dress Tail Down
  • Buy for $0.993.Negre Est Pas La (You Act Sick When I'm Around)
  • Buy for $0.994.I'm Still Blinkin'
  • Buy for $0.995.Sugar Bee
  • Buy for $0.996.Rock Me Mama
  • Buy for $0.997.Crying Blues
  • Buy for $0.998.'Tite Fille
  • Buy for $0.999.Johnnie Billy Goat
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Twist
  • Buy for $0.9911.La Poule Pend P'us (The Hen Won't Lay)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Broke And Hungry
  • Buy for $0.9913.Henry Martin Two Step

Product Description:

DOWN HOME ON DOG HILL contains the final studio recordings of the late Boozoo Chavis.
Personel includes: Boozoo Chavis (vocals, accordion); Charles Chavis (vocals, rubboard); Sonny Landreth (guitar); David Greely (fiddle); Scott Billington (harmonica); Classie Ballou, Jr. (bass); Rellis Chavis (drums).
Released five months after his death in the spring of 2001, this album finds the Zydeco King (one of the architects of the genre itself) at his absolute peak. This posthumous set finds him in total control and his band at their most blistering. Chavis and his group are joined here by guitarist Sonny Landreth and fiddler David Greely, both of whom add intensity and fire to a blast furnace already running at full tilt. Chavis's original compositions continue to find fresh vitality within a style that others would have already exhausted or abandoned over the course of such a long career as his. The tension he creates as a bandleader is subtle yet powerful. Far from simple two-steps, there's an almost constant push and pull going on that's positively masterful.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Boozoo Chavis

Product Info

  • UPC: 011661216624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)