Boozoo Chavis Johnnie Billy Goat (Live) (2-CD)

Johnnie Billy Goat (Live) (2-CD)
2 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  E7HD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd


  • Buy for $0.991.Dance All Night
  • Buy for $0.992.Dog Hill
  • Buy for $0.993.Goin' To La Maison
  • Buy for $0.994.Oh Yeah
  • Buy for $0.995.Motor Dude Special
  • Buy for $0.996.Lula Lula Don't You Go To Bingo
  • Buy for $0.997.I'm Going To The Country To Get Me A Mojo Hand
  • Buy for $0.998.Lucille
  • Buy for $0.999.I Want To Go Home
  • Buy for $0.9910.Tee Black
  • Buy for $0.9911.Big Leg Woman
  • Buy for $0.9912.Who Stole My Monkey?
  • Buy for $0.9913.Boozoo, That's Who!
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Went To The Dance
  • Buy for $0.9915.Paper In My Shoe
  • Buy for $0.9916.41 Days
  • Buy for $0.9917.Oh Black Gal
  • Buy for $0.9918.Grand Mary's Two Step
  • Buy for $0.9919.Valse De Derniere Fois
  • Buy for $0.9920.Oh Bye Mon Neg
  • Buy for $0.9921.Johnnie Billy Goat
  • Buy for $0.9922.I'm Going Away To Stay

Product Description:

Personnel: Boozoo Chavis (vocals, accordion); Charles Chavis (vocals, rubboard); Carlton "Guitar" Thomas, Nathaniel Fontenot (guitar); Classie Ballou, Jr. (bass); Rellis Chavis (drums).
Producers: Terry Adams, Scott Billington.
Engineers: Tom Mark, Ed Eastridge, Tony Daigle.
Recorded at New Orleans Recording Company, Matairie, Louisiana in May 1993, Habibi Tempe, Lake Charles, Louisiana, on September 19, 1993 and Dockside Studio, Maurice, Louisiana in September 1998. Includes liner notes by Scott Billington.
Personnel: Boozoo Chavis (vocals, accordion); Charles Chavis (vocals, rub-board, background vocals); Carlton Thomas (guitar); Rellis Chavis (drums).
Audio Mixers: Chris Andersen; Steve Reynolds; Tom Mark; Tony Daigle.
Liner Note Author: Scott Billington.
Recording information: Dockside Studio, Maurice, LA (05/1993-??/1998); Habibi Temple, Lake Charles, LA (05/1993-??/1998); New Orleans Recording Company, Metairie, LA (05/1993-??/1998).
Illustrator: Christian Clayton.
Photographers: Jean Hangarter; Boozoo Chavis.
This collection is the perfect starting point for anyone not yet familiar with the wonderful magic of zydeco master Boozoo Chavis. It's drawn from his albums LIVE! AT THE HABIB TEMPLE, WHO STOLE MY MONKEY?, and BOOZOO, THAT'S WHO, along with three previously unissued performances from the live set.
Chavis is one of the key architects of what has become zydeco music today. He released the first record in the genre back in 1954 (the single "Paper In My Shoe"). After leaving the music business shortly thereafter, he returned to regular recording and performing in the mid '80s. With Chavis on accordion and vocals, his outfit is a rhythm machine--subtle tensions layer upon one another with ferociously unstoppable intensity. Chavis has managed to create a body of music that is at once fiercely idiosyncratic and invitingly alluring. There's not a note or beat throughout this whole anthology that's anything short of fully honest and committed.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Boozoo Chavis

Product Info

  • UPC: 011661159426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)