Sarah Vaughan Ken Burns's Jazz

Sarah Vaughan: Ken Burns's Jazz
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YE82
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Interlude
  • 2.If You Could See Me Now
  • Buy for $0.993.I Love You
  • 4.Can't Get Out of This Mood
  • Buy for $0.995.They Can't Take That Away from Me
  • Buy for $0.996.You're Not the Kind
  • Buy for $0.997.Lover Man
  • Buy for $0.998.A Sinner Kissed an Angel
  • Buy for $0.999.Poor Butterfly
  • Buy for $1.2910.Misty
  • 11.Great Day
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Feel Pretty
  • Buy for $0.9913.My Man
  • 14.The Nearness of You
  • 15.Autumn Leaves
  • 16.Send in the Clowns

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Sarah Vaughan (vocals, piano); Tadd Dameron, Ernie Wilkins, Hal Mooney, Quincy Jones (conductor); Billy Eckstine (vocals); Georgie Auld, Bud Johnson, Paul Quinichette (tenor saxophone); Cecil Payne (baritone saxophone); Zoot Sims (saxophone); Dizzy Gillespie, Clifford Jordan, Freddie Hubbard, Clark Terry (trumpet); Bennie Green, J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding (trombone); Herbie Mann (flute); Tony Scott (clarinet); Benny Golson, Phil Woods (reeds); Leonard Feather, Bud Powell, Bob James, Roland Hanna (piano); Mundell Lowe, Joe Pass (guitar); Jack Lesberg, Ted Sturgis, Sid Weiss, Billy Taylor, Joe Banjamin, Richard Davis, George Duvivier (bass); Morey Feld, Kenny Clarke, Bunny Shawker, J.C. Heard, Roy Haynes (drums).
Compilation producers: Ken Druker, Will Friedwald, Ben Young.
Recorded between 1944 and 1985. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
Digitally remastered by Kevin Reeves (Universal Mastering Studios-East).
This is part of the Verve Records Ken Burns JAZZ series.
Personnel: Sarah Vaughan (vocals, piano); Billy Eckstine (vocals); Chuck Wayne, Pierre Cullaz, Joe Pass, Mundell Lowe (guitar); Bernard Kaufman, Nuncio "Toots" Mondello (flute, clarinet); Herbie Mann (flute); Art Drelinger (clarinet, oboe); Aaron Sachs, Tony Scott (clarinet); Phil Woods, Benny Golson (reeds); Jo Hrasko, Marcel Hrasko, William Boucaya, Zoot Sims (saxophone); Leroy Harris (alto saxophone); Georgie Auld, Paul Quinichette, Budd Johnson (tenor saxophone); Cecil Payne (baritone saxophone); Clark Terry, Clifford Brown , Dizzy Gillespie, Freddie Hubbard, Freddy Webster, Joe Newman , Charlie Shavers (trumpet); J.J. Johnson , Kai Winding, Bennie Green (trombone); Kirk Stuart, Fran Colett, Jimmy Jones , Leonard Feather, Ronnell Bright, Roland Hanna, Bob James, John Malachi, Bud Powell (piano); Michael A. Hauser (vibraphone); Ron Haynes , J.C. Heard, Kenny Clarke, Morey Feld, Harold Jones , Norris "Bunny" Shawker, George Hughes (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Peter Keepnews; Will Friedwald.
Recording information: 12/31/1944-11/02/1985.
Photographers: Paul J. Hoeffler; Lee Tanner; Herman Leonard.
Arrangers: Ernie Wilkins; Hal Mooney; Quincy Jones; Tadd Dameron; Thad Jones.
With cooperation from the Verve and Columbia Legacy catalogs, the Ken Burns Jazz series on CD individually spotlights the musical excellence of 22 jazz originators whose careers and influence are explored in Burns' PBS documentary Jazz. Sarah Vaughan is in the elite triumvirate of 20th century jazz and popular music vocalists, matched by Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday in creativity and vocal ability. Vaughan spent the majority of her career as a soloist, accompanied through the years by various orchestras under the direction of George Threadwell, Ernie Wilkins, Dizzy Gillespie, Billy Eckstine, Tadd Dameron, Hal Mooney, and Quincy Jones, all briefly represented on this disc. These 16 tracks, recorded for an assortment of labels including Mercury, Pablo, EmArcy, Musicraft, and Columbia, move from early bop-oriented material ("Interlude") to middle-of-the-road pop/jazz ("Misty," "I Feel Pretty"), concluding with a 1985 version of "Send in the Clowns." Sarah Vaughan maintained her miraculous voice throughout a career spanning five decades. While it's impossible to sum up Vaughan's history on a single disc, the highlights on Ken Burns Jazz retain enough interest for the listener to continue searching out more of her material. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sarah Vaughan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 122,559
  • UPC: 731454908825
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)