Sarah Vaughan Sarah Vaughan's Golden Hits!!! [Mercury / PolyGram]

Sarah Vaughan's Golden Hits!!! [Mercury /
23 ratings
Only 10 copies left
Price: $9.89
List Price: $10.99
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YE7S
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Misty
  • Buy for $1.292.Broken Hearted Melody
  • Buy for $0.993.Make Yourself Comfortable
  • Buy for $0.994.Autumn In New York
  • Buy for $1.295.Moonlight In Vermont
  • Buy for $0.996.How Important Can It Be
  • Buy for $0.997.Smooth Operator
  • Buy for $1.298.Whatever Lola Wants
  • Buy for $1.299.Lullaby Of Birdland
  • Buy for $0.9910.Eternally
  • Buy for $0.9911.Poor Butterfly
  • Buy for $0.9912.Close To You
  • Buy for $1.2913.Lover Man - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Tenderly - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Passing Strangers - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9916.C'est La Vie - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Experience Unnecessary - (bonus track)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Banana Song, The - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Includes original liner notes by Lou Sidran & new liner notes by Will Friedwald.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Sarah Vaughan (vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Dennis Drake.
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Paul Ramey; Richard Seidel.
An overview of the legendary singer's golden years with Mercury Records, GOLDEN HITS comprises mostly pop material. Backed by a string orchestra, some of these selections, such as "Broken Hearted Melody," even contain a tincture of early Motown. Pundits have argued that Vaughan's pop hits somehow degraded her; however, she infused artistry into any song or setting, and the highly arranged accompaniments and unique tunes she performed suited her attitude and technique, if not her potential.
Vaughan's jazzier side, as evidenced on her 1954 self-titled release with Clifford Brown, is understated on GOLDEN HITS (although her version of "Lullaby of Birdland" from that album is included here). Nonetheless, GOLDEN HITS highlights the singer's ability to coax deep meaning from a lyric. On "Tenderly" and "Misty," she croons with her characteristic supple and rounded tone, savoring every note along the way. GOLDEN HITS showcases Sarah Vaughan's wide range, perfectly controlled vibrato, and intuitive gift for lyrical irony.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 23 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sarah Vaughan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,447
  • UPC: 042282489128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)