Art Tatum 20th Century Piano Genius (2-CD)

20th Century Piano Genius (2-CD)
26 ratings
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YE6D
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Polygram Records

Entertainment Reviews:

New York Times (Publisher) - 7/28/96, Sec.2, p.30
"...document[s] probably the greatest instrumental talent in the history of jazz at the peak of his inventive powers....amid a small and appreciative group gathered around the piano, Tatum seems freed from any imperative except to enjoy himself, and we hear him taking completely different approaches to songs he had played...many times..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Just Like A Butterfly (That's Caught In The Rain)
  • Buy for $0.992.Tenderly
  • Buy for $0.993.I Cover The Waterfront
  • Buy for $0.994.Body And Soul
  • Buy for $0.995.Someone To Watch Over Me
  • Buy for $0.996.In A Sentimental Mood
  • Buy for $0.997.Yesterdays
  • Buy for $0.998.Willow Weep For Me
  • Buy for $0.999.Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
  • Buy for $0.9910.Makin' Whoopee - (previously unreleased, incomplete)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Memories Of You
  • Buy for $0.9912.September Song
  • Buy for $0.9913.Begin The Beguine
  • Buy for $0.9914.I'll Never Be The Same
  • Buy for $0.9915.Over The Rainbow
  • Buy for $0.9916.Love For Sale
  • Buy for $0.9917.My Heart Stood Still
  • Buy for $0.9918.Sweet Lorraine
  • Buy for $0.9919.Louise - (previously unreleased, incomplete)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Don't Blame Me
  • Buy for $0.992.There Will Never Be Another You
  • Buy for $0.993.Without A Song
  • Buy for $0.994.Moon Song
  • Buy for $0.995.You Took Advantage Of Me
  • Buy for $0.996.Little Man, You've Had A Busy Day
  • Buy for $0.997.Danny Boy
  • Buy for $0.998.Some Other Spring - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.999.Love For Sale - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Mighty Like A Rose - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Sweet Lorraine - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Someone To Watch Over Me - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Mine - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Too Marvelous For Words
  • Buy for $0.9915.Jitterbug Waltz
  • Buy for $0.9916.Mr. Freddie Blues
  • Buy for $0.9917.Body And Soul - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Yesterdays - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9919.Tea For Two / Honeysuckle Rose - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9920.Would You Like To Take A Walk? / After You've Gone - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Solo performer: Art Tatum (piano).
Recorded live at the home of Ray Heindorf in Beverly Hills, California between 1950 and 1955. Includes liner notes by James Lester, as well as excerpts from a conversation between Hank Jones, Adam Makowicz, and Lou Stein.
20TH CENTURY PIANO GENIUS was previously released as two separate LPs, PIANO DISCOVERIES on 20th Century Fox (FTS 3029, 3033) and PIECES OF EIGHT on Smithsonian (R 029). It includes previously-unreleased material from those same sessions.
Personnel: Art Tatum (piano).
Recording information: Beverley Hills, CA (04/16/1950/07/03/1955).
Editor: Peter Pullman.
Photographer: Herman Leonard.
There is virtually no pianist, living or dead, who has possessed same amount of technical facility as Art Tatum. The Franz List of jazz, Tatum was known for his ability to play jaw-dropping runs up and down the piano. In fact, his skill was so amazing that he often sounded like two or more pianists playing at once.
On 20TH CENTURY PIANO GENIUS, the legendary pianist performs solo on all 39 tracks. Recorded informally in a Hollywood, California home, this disc highlights the perfectionism and sheer intensity of Tatum's musicianship. Each selection is expertly played, and the din of glasses clanking and people chatting between tunes actually adds intimacy to the recording; this is not some pristine studio endeavor, it's a listening party. Musical gems are found throughout, but the swinging "Love for Sale" and the stride-influenced "Body and Soul" are standout tracks. The CD package also contains insightful commentary on the brilliance of Tatum from pianists Hank Jones, Adam Makowicz, and Lou Stein.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 26 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Art Tatum

Product Info

  • UPC: 731453176324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)