Johnny Hodges Masters of Jazz

Masters of Jazz
Price: $5.39
List Price: $5.99
You Save: $0.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GF5F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 3, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Storyville Records


  • 1.Don't Get Round Much Anymore
  • 2.Passion Flower
  • 3.Perdidio
  • 4.All Of Me
  • 5.C Jam Blues
  • 6.I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
  • 7.In A Mellotone
  • 8.Cambridge Blues
  • 9.Brute's Roots
  • 10.Bouncing With Ben
  • 11.One For The Duke
  • 12.Walkin' The Frog
  • 13.Rabbit Pie
  • 14.On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  • 15.Good Queen Bess
  • 16.The Jeep Is Jumpin'
  • 17.Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  • 18.Jeep's Blues
  • 19.Dooji Wooji

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Herb Ellis, Fred Guy (guitar); Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone); Harry Carney (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Oett "Sax" Mallard (alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton, John Coltrane, Paul Gonsalves, Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Harold Baker, Al Killian, Ray Nance, Rex Stewart, Shelton Hemphill, Francis Williams , Wallace Jones, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Joseph Nanton, Lawrence D. Brown, Juan Tizol, Quentin Jackson, Tyree Glenn (trombone); Victor Feldman, Duke Ellington, Lou Levy, Billy Strayhorn (piano); Gus Johnson , Sam Woodyard, Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Author: Chris Albertson.
Recording information: Columbia, OH (04/03/1943-08/27/1964); Stockholm, Sweden (04/03/1943-08/27/1964); The Hollywood Empire, Los Angeles, CA (04/03/1943-08/27/1964); The Hurricane, NY (04/03/1943-08/27/1964); The Jazz Venter, San Francisco, CA (04/03/1943-08/27/1964).
Johnny Hodges is forever associated with Duke Ellington as one of his principle soloists, though he recorded extensively as a bandleader himself beginning in the '50s. This compilation draws from earlier Storyville releases, including a number of features for the alto saxophonist with Ellington, highlighted by "All of Me" and "Jeep's Blues." But the bulk of this CD contains all ten tracks of Hodges' earlier disc, Masters of Jazz, Vol. 9, which features the saxophonist leading two separate groups of all-stars in club settings. Six tracks come from a 1960 set at The Cellar in San Francisco, with Ben Webster providing a perfect foil for Hodges, all originals by the leader. Four selections come from a Norman Granz-sponsored European tour in 1961, where Hodges led a group of fellow Ellington veterans (Harry Carney, Ray Nance, Lawrence Brown, Aaron Bell and Sam Woodyard, with pianist Al Williams). Hodges' swinging take of "On the Sunny Side of the Street" is brilliant, with the other horn providing lush background and soft rifts for the soloist. In addition to Hodges, Brown also solos in both "Good Queen Bess" and a rousing "Things Ain't What They Used to Be." Highly recommended! ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Hodges

Product Info

  • UPC: 717101851027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)