Benny Green Green's Blues [12 Tracks]

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
6 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  TLR 835392

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: May 22, 2001
  • Label: Telarc


  • 1.I've Heard That Song Before
  • 2.I Wish You Love
  • 3.Someone To Watch Over Me
  • 4.You Make Me Feel So Young
  • 5.Just You, Just Me
  • 6.Green's Blues
  • 7.Green Eyes
  • 8.Misty
  • 9.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • 10.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • 11.It Don't Mean A Thing
  • 12.I Got It Bad

Product Description:

Solo performer: Benny Green (piano).
Recorded at Ambient Studios, Stanford, Connecticut from January 22-24, 2001. Includes liner notes by Benny Green and John Clayton.
Recording information: Ambient Studio, Stamford, CT (01/22/2001-01/24/2001).
Green's first-ever fully unaccompanied outing is a knockout -- not a conceptual revolution by any means, but a stylistic triumph and an all-around good time. Like Marcus Roberts, Green is a latter-day master of stride piano, and right off the bat he wows listeners with his skills on "I've Heard That Song Before" and "I Wish You Love" before quieting down with "Someone to Watch Over Me." Green's playing spills over with adventurous, perfectly resolved phrases, crystalline melodies, and controlled dissonance, not to mention a tremendous amount of human spirit. Sticking to standard repertoire (with the exception of the original title track), Green also rummages through other old songs like "Just You, Just Me," "Misty," and "Ain't Misbehavin'," effortlessly creating beauty as he goes. He closes with two Ellington classics, "It Don't Mean a Thing" and "I Got It Bad"; the former is interpolated with Gershwin's "It Ain't Necessarily So" and tagged with a variation on Charlie Parker's "Now's the Time." ~ David R. Adler

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Benny Green

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 98,468
  • UPC: 089408353925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre: