Ella Fitzgerald Romance and Rhythm (4-CD)

Romance and Rhythm (4-CD)
11 copies available
Price: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  KW7A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Love and Kisses
  • 2.My Melancholy Baby
  • 3.All My Life
  • 4.Sing Me a Swing Song (And Let Me Dance)
  • 5.(If You Can't Sing It) You'll Have to Swing It
  • 6.Goodnight My Love
  • 7.Oh Yes, Take Another Guess
  • 8.Did You Mean It?
  • 9.Organ Grinder's Swing
  • 10.Darktown Strutters' Ball
  • 11.Big Boy Blue
  • 12.Dedicated to You
  • 13.All Over Nothing at All
  • 14.If You Ever Should Leave
  • 15.I Got a Guy
  • 16.Rock It for Me
  • 17.I Want to Be Happy
  • 18.Dipsy Doodle
  • 19.If Dreams Come True
  • 20.Hallellujah!
  • 21.It's Wonderful
  • 22.I Was Doing All Right
  • 23.A-Tisket, A-Tasket
  • 24.If You Only Knew
  • 25.Ella

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.F.D.R. Jones
  • 2.I Found My Yellow Basket
  • 3.Undecided
  • 4.Tain't What You Do (It's the Way That Cha Do It)
  • 5.My Heart Belongs to Daddy
  • 6.Chew-Chew-Chew (Your Bubble Gum)
  • 7.Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  • 8.If Anything Happened to You
  • 9.If You Ever Change Your Mind
  • 10.Little White Lies
  • 11.Stairway to the Stars
  • 12.I Want the Waiter (With the Water)
  • 13.Out of Nowhere
  • 14.You're Gonna Lose Your Gal
  • 15.Moon Ray
  • 16.Sugar Blues
  • 17.Starlit Hour
  • 18.What's the Matter with Me?
  • 19.Baby, Won't You Please Come Home?
  • 20.If It Weren't for You
  • 21.Sing Song Swing
  • 22.Imagination
  • 23.Deedle-De-Dum
  • 24.Shake Down the Stars
  • 25.Gulf Coast Blues

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Five O'Clock Whistle
  • 2.Louisville K-Y
  • 3.Taking a Chance on Love
  • 4.Cabin in the Sky
  • 5.I'm the Lonesomest Gal in Town
  • 6.Three Little Words
  • 7.Hello Ma! I Done It Again
  • 8.One I Love (Belongs to Somebody Else)
  • 9.My Man
  • 10.I Can't Believe That You're in Love with Me
  • 11.I Must Have That Man
  • 12.When My Sugar Walks Down the Street
  • 13.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 14.Can't Help Lovin' That Man
  • 15.Jim
  • 16.This Love of Mine
  • 17.Somebody Nobody Loves
  • 18.Make Love to Me
  • 19.Mama Come Home
  • 20.He's My Guy
  • 21.Cow Cow Boogie
  • 22.Once Too Often [From Pin-Up Girl]
  • 23.Time Alone Will Tell
  • 24.Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall
  • 25.And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.I'm Beginning to See the Light
  • 2.It's Only a Paper Moon
  • 3.Flying Home
  • 4.Stone Cold Dead in the Market (He Had It Coming)
  • 5.You Won't Be Satisfied (Until You Break My Heart)
  • 6.Frim Fram Sauce
  • 7.Sentimental Journey
  • 8.Oh, Lady Be Good
  • 9.Robbin's Nest
  • 10.How High the Moon
  • 11.Baby It's Cold Outside
  • 12.Basin Street Blues
  • 13.Don'cha Go 'Way Mad
  • 14.Dream a Little Dream of Me
  • 15.Looking for a Boy
  • 16.My One and Only
  • 17.How Long Has This Been Going On
  • 18.I've Got a Crush on You
  • 19.But Not for Me
  • 20.Soon
  • 21.Someone to Watch Over Me
  • 22.Maybe
  • 23.Smooth Sailing
  • 24.Airmail Special
  • 25.Rough Ridin'

Product Description:

Personnel: Chick Webb & His Orchestra, Ellis Larkins, Louis Armstrong.
The four-disc Ella Fitzgerald box set released by Proper is one of the most complete assessments of her early career, with 100 songs taking listeners from her debut with the orchestra of Chick Webb in 1935 all the way to the end of her Decca contract in 1952. (As fans will know, this set says nothing about the wonderful things she was about to accomplish with the Verve label in the '50s and '60s.) During her Webb and Decca years, Ella performed a mixture of light novelties and sturdy standards (or soon-to-be standards), with the dreaded novelties ("A-Tisket, A-Tasket," "Stone Cold Dead in the Market [He Had It Coming]") usually paying the way for the songs she liked to sing (and her fans liked to hear). Although her prewar and postwar period is often maligned, or unfairly compared to her later standard of excellence, Ella (like Billie Holiday) was able to spin gold -- or at least silver -- out of nearly everything she recorded. An added bonus is Decca's pairing of her with their other stars of the period, like Louis Armstrong, the Ink Spots, and Louis Jordan. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 125,909
  • UPC: 805520020749
  • Shipping Weight: 0.55/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)