Venom Welcome to Hell

Welcome to Hell
11 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2.17 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YEK4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: 2006
  • Originally Released: 1981
  • Label: Metal-Is

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 7/01, p.91
Included in Q's "50 Heaviest Albums of All Time" - "...Made the popular metal of the period - Judas Priest, iron Maiden, even Motorhead - sound tame by comparison....writing songs about Beelzebub because 'he were a reet bad lad'..."


  • 1.Sons Of Satan
  • 2.Welcome To Hell
  • 3.Schizo
  • 4.Mayhem With Mercy
  • 5.Poison
  • 6.Live Like An Angel (Die Like A Devil)
  • 7.Witching Hour
  • 8.One Thousand Days In Sodom
  • 9.Angel Thief
  • 10.In League With Satan
  • 11.Red Light Fever
  • 12.Angel Dust - (from "The Neat Compilation Lead Weight")
  • 13.In League With Satan
  • 14.Live Like An Angel - (Version)
  • 15.Bloodlust - (Single BJ)
  • 16.In Nomina Satanas - (Single BJ)
  • 17.Angel Dust - (Demo)
  • 18.Raise The Dead - (Demo)
  • 19.Red Light Fever - (Demo)
  • 20.Welcome To Hell - (Demo)
  • 21.Bitch Witch - (Outtake)
  • 22.Snots Shit - (Outtake)

Product Description:

Venom: Cronos (vocals, bass); Mantas (guitar); Abaddon (drums).
Producers: Keith Nichol, Venom, Steve Thompson, Mickey Sweeney.
Recorded at Impulse Studios, Newcastle, England in 1981. Includes liner notes by Malcolm Dome.
Welcome to Hell, and Venom themselves, for that matter, have long been the subject of heated debate within the heavy metal community. Few bands have been as recognizably influential yet so universally panned by critics during their careers, and, of course, it was this, their first long-player, which ignited most of that controversy in the first place. This shocking debut was the scene of a bloody, head-on collision between Black Sabbath's original heavy metal commandments and lyrical obsessions with all things demonic, and Mot”rhead's unparalleled distortion and breakneck speed. Make no mistake: Welcome to Hell, more than any other album, crystallized the elements of what later became known as thrash, death, black, and virtually every other form of extreme metal, serving as a primer for thousands of post-New Wave of British Heavy Metal teens to follow. Primitive with a capital P, the album's production values are so poor that fittingly Welcome to Hell truly sounds like it was recorded in a tomb, the band's Marshall stacks caked with dirt and oozing worms even as they tore through their material like a pack of speed freaks. It's not that the hellish triumvirate of bassist/growler Cronos, guitarist Mantas, and drummer Abaddon -- there, even the ghoulish names set a precedent -- were such incompetent musicians individually (OK, maybe Abaddon), but their performance as a unit often sounds clumsy and underrehearsed. All of this only contributes to the album's gimmick-free honesty, of course, and highlights include such timeless satanic onslaughts as the title track, "In League With Satan," "One Thousand Days in Sodom" (whose there-and-back riff would later be re-written by Slayer a dozen times), and, most notably, the absolute classic "Witching Hour." Possibly Venom's single most important track, in it you'll hear a number of stylistic devices which would later pervade all extreme metal genres, indeed become their most regularly abused clich‚s. Additional early singles like "Angel Dust" and "Live Like an Angel (Die Like a Devil)" round out the disc in bombastic fashion, while lesser-known numbers like "Sons of Satan" and "Poison" just plain rock out. [Neat/Sanctuary's 2002 reissue adds a whopping 11 bonus cuts between alternate takes, singles, and demos, and killer packaging to boot. And original fans can rest assured that no amount of remastering can put a pretty face on Venom's incredible racket (the drums still sound like cardboard boxes -- thank God).] ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Venom

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,322
  • UPC: 823107300329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)