Melvin Sparks This Is It!

This Is It!
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  KW4W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 7, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Savant


  • 1.This Is It!
  • 2.Bambu
  • 3.Heavy Fallin' Out
  • 4.My Girl
  • 5.Give Your Life to G-d
  • 6.Watch Yo' Step
  • 7.Bounce
  • 8.The Light Is On
  • 9.Hot Barbecue

Product Description:

Personnel: Melvin Sparks (guitar); Jerry Z (organ); Justin Tomsovic (drums); Nikki Armstrong (background vocals); Cochemea Gastelum (saxophone); Jennifer Hartswick (trumpet).
Recording information: Tedesco Studios, Paramus, NJ (01/11/2005).
Guitarist Melvin Sparks' quintet date is a throwback to late-'60s funky soul-jazz. The pieces are bluesy and funky without being blues, and fall between jazz and R&B grooves. Sparks plays well if predictably and his obscure backup band (which has a background vocal from Nikki Armstrong on "Give Your Life to G-d") performs its parts well and with spirit. All of the music is danceable without being overly simplistic and the solos usually last the optimum length of time. The results are quite accessible if somewhat lacking in surprises, played in a style that is very easy to like. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Melvin Sparks

Product Info

  • UPC: 633842206523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)