Lud Gluskin 1924-33 (2-CD)

1924-33 (2-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 4.1
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $30.98
Your Price: $27.88
You Save: $3.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  JZOR 8045
on most orders of $100
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 22, 2005
  • Label: Jazz Oracle

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Down Home Blues - Paul Gason and His Orchestra
  • 2.Steamboat Sal - Paul Gason and His Orchestra
  • 3.I Certainly Could - Paul Gason Et Son Versatile Orchestra
  • 4.Ain't She Sweet? - The Playboys
  • 5.Tiger Rag
  • 6.Si Vous Connaisez Papa
  • 7.Feelin' No Pain
  • 8.Miss Annabelle Lee
  • 9.Sunny Skies
  • 10.Did You Mean It?
  • 11.Whiteman Stomp
  • 12.St. Louis Blues
  • 13.Ten Little Miles from Town
  • 14.Clarinet Marmalade
  • 15.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 16.You Took Advantage of Me
  • 17.Clarinet Marmalade
  • 18.I Wanna Be Loved by You
  • 19.Crazy Rhythm
  • 20.Add a Little Wiggle
  • 21.What a Wonderful Wedding That Will Be
  • 22.Everywhere You Go
  • 23.Milenber Joys
  • 24.Skadatin - Dee

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tiger Rag
  • 2.Room With a View
  • 3.That's My Weakness Now
  • 4.Gipsy
  • 5.Stairway of Dreams
  • 6.Doin' the New Low Down
  • 7.Moanin' Low
  • 8.I Wanna Go Places and Do Things
  • 9.Close Your Eyes
  • 10.Someone's Falling in Love
  • 11.It's Nice Like This
  • 12.Birmingham Bertha
  • 13.Milenberg Joys
  • 14.Bee - Ology
  • 15.C'est Mon Gigolo
  • 16.Oh, Donna Clara
  • 17.'Leven Thirty Saturday Night
  • 18.There's a Wah - Wah Gal in Agua Caliente
  • 19.March of the Hoodlums
  • 20.Oh! Mo'nah!
  • 21.Dinah
  • 22.Crazy People
  • 23.How About You and Me?
  • 24.Fit as a Fiddle

Product Description:

Personnel: Lud Gluskin (drums); Eddie Ritten (vocals, trumpet); Barry Curtis (vocals, drums); Dr‚na, Kearney Walton, John Thorne, Freddy Johnson , Leslie Sterling (vocals); Emile Christian (bass voice, baritone saxophone, trombone); Spencer Clark (guitar, clarinet, baritone saxophone, xylophone); Mike Danzi, Don Baird (guitar); John W. Castellucci (banjo, violin); Freddy Bouvier, Mischa Lewandowsky (banjo); Rapha Brogiotti, Fred Zierer (violin); Leo Vauchant (cello, trombone); Maurice Cizeron (flute, clarinet, oboe, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Felix Passerone, Serge Glykson (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Billy Bartholomew (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Merrow Bodge (clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Paul Gason, Max Blanc, Buzz Gragg, Danny Polo (clarinet, alto saxophone); Georges Charron, Charles "Coco" Kiehn (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Maurice Fallet, Billy Laurent (reeds); Marcel Baudran (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Julien Porret, Faustin Jeanjean, Jascha Strijevsky, Johnny Dixon, Bob Leroy, Alex Renard, Maurice Giegas, Arthur Briggs (trumpet); Guy Paquinet, Howard Mulvaney, Ben Pickering, Rene Weis (trombone); Arcady Lynn, Paulie Freed, Joe Wismer, Jack O'Brien , Reuel Kenyon, Lucien Moraweck, Joe Kreklow (piano); Georges Marion, Ted Goebel, Andre Taylor, Jim Kelly (drums); Howard Kennedy (tenor, banjo); Eddie Ritten, Emil Christian, Gene Prendergast.
Audio Remasterer: John R.T. Davies.
Liner Note Author: Andreas Schmauder.
Recording information: Berlin, Germany (10/18/1924-02/27/1933); Paris, France (10/18/1924-02/27/1933); Vienna, Austria (10/18/1924-02/27/1933).
Arrangers: Paulie Freed; Julien Porret; Paul Weirick; Art Mac Kay; Lucien Moraweck; Jimmy Dale ; Irving King.
New horizons in historic jazz reissuing were revealed in 2005 when Jazz Oracle came out with a double-CD compendium of recordings made for about a dozen different labels between October 1924 and February 1933 in Vienna, Paris, and Berlin, all involving bandleader Lud Gluskin (1898-1989). Andreas Schmauder, apparently one of the world's leading Gluskin authorities, was asked to paw through literally hundreds of 78 rpm platters to designate the 48 titles included in this package, which is loaded with precious photographs and fascinating information. Gluskin first appears as a drummer with Paul Gason and His Versatile Orchestra. "Ain't She Sweet?" is performed by the Playboys, a Detroit-based band that would soon morph into an expanded and more versatile orchestra under Gluskin's direction. Subsequent billings list the perpetually evolving group as Lud Gluskin and His Versatile Juniors, Lud Gluskin et Son Jazz Orchestre Lud Gluskin, "Lud" Gluskin Ambassadonians, Lud Gluskin and his Ambassadors Orchestra, Jazz-Orchester Lud Gluskin, and finally Lud Gluskin et son Orchestre, which is the name they appeared under most often when serenading patrons at the Casino de Paris. The sound of the band often brings to mind great old-time jazz heroes like the Original Memphis Five, Red Nichols, Miff Mole, Bix Beiderbecke, Frankie Trumbauer, Frank Teschmacher and Jean Goldkette, whose arrangements were in fact used by Gluskin from time to time. Material ranges from hot novelty dance music and traditional pop tunes to substantial jazz numbers like "Tiger Rag," "Milenberg Joys," "Clarinet Marmalade," W.C. Handy's "St. Louis Blues," Fats Waller's "Whiteman Stomp," and Fud Livingston's "Feelin' No Pain." Jazz Oracle continues to astonish and delight all who are fascinated with obscure jazz records from the early 20th century. This installment is particularly rewarding. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 129,164
  • UPC: 620588804526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items