Mika The Boy Who Knew Too Much

The Boy Who Knew Too Much
35 ratings
Only 10 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.84 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.95
You Save: $1.11 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  366XW
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Casablanca

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.78
3 stars out of 5 -- "Mika's faith in the campy excess of Freddie Mercury/Elton John-style pomp pop is bracing."
Spin - p.82
"[H]e rewrites the hooks from your parents' favorite Bon Jovi/Belinda Carlisle hit into earnest proclamations of teenage eccentricity..."
Entertainment Weekly - p.70
"[I]t's a Technicolor pop explosion designed for throwing your jazz hands into the air." -- Grade: A
Billboard (p.53) - "[T]his Beirut-born singer comes back strong with another set of over-the-top anthems that proves no one's more entitled to inherit Freddie Mercury's glam-god crown."
Q (Magazine) - pp.106-107
4 stars out of 5 -- "This is a bold, daring and vibrant album....He is undoubtedly a star of the old school -- and a rare one at that."


  • Buy for $1.291.We Are Golden
  • Buy for $1.292.Blame It on the Girls
  • Buy for $1.293.Rain
  • Buy for $1.294.Dr. John
  • Buy for $1.295.I See You
  • Buy for $1.296.Blue Eyes
  • Buy for $1.297.Good Gone Girl
  • Buy for $1.298.Touches You
  • Buy for $1.299.By the Time
  • Buy for $1.2910.One Foot Boy
  • Buy for $1.2911.Toy Boy
  • Buy for $1.2912.Pick Up Off the Floor

Product Description:

Personnel: Lyle Workman, Tim Pierce (guitar); Owen Pallett (violin); Paul Buckmaster (strings); Dan Higgins, Gary Grant, Jerry Hey (horns); Imogen Heap (keyboards, drums, programming, background vocals); Walter Afanasieff (keyboards, percussion, programming); Matt Chamberlain (drums, percussion); Cherisse Osei (drums); Dan Rothchild, Alex Miller (background vocals).
Recording information: Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA; Olympic Studios, London, England; Rocket Carousel Studios.
Illustrators: Claire Bushe; DaWack ; Zuleika Penniman; Sophie Blackall; Richard Hogg; Sophie Blackall; Mika.
Making an album even more vibrant than LIFE IN CARTOON MOTION would have been difficult for Mika. On THE BOY WHO KNEW TOO MUCH, he doesn't try to top himself; instead, he reins in just enough of his debut's indulgent tendencies to let his gift for great melodies and hooks be the focus. Rather than cramming songs with moments intended to impress that end up being overwhelming, "Dr. John"'s finger-popping minor fall and major lift and the calypso-tinged "Blue Eyes" are impressive because they're so direct. While CARTOON MOTION was engaging, occasionally it felt like Mika was more skilled at pastiche than presenting his own sound. Here, he and producer Greg Wells fashion songs that sound truly distinctive. Though touches of inspirations like Elton John, the Bee Gees, and the Scissor Sisters still pop up, the musician Mika borrows from most on THE BOY WHO KNEW TOO MUCH is himself.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 35 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mika

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 110,156
  • UPC: 602527198668
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)