Black Sabbath The Dio Years

The Dio Years
86 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.09 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.99
You Save: $1.90 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  366XF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 3, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.66
4 stars out of 5 -- "Dio's banshee vocals and Tony Iommi's brilliant, creepy guitar make it all work, most spectacularly on the title track, a nearly-seven-minute, time-signature-shifting epic about good and evil."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.131
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he three new songs included here are classic Sabbath: monolithic and doom-laden. Just like the bad old days."


  • 1.Neon Knights
  • 2.Lady Evil
  • 3.Heaven and Hell
  • 4.Die Young
  • 5.Lonely Is the Word
  • 6.The Mob Rules
  • 7.Turn up the Night
  • 8.Voodoo
  • 9.Falling Off the Edge of the World
  • 10.After All (The Dead)
  • 11.TV Crimes
  • 12.I
  • 13.Children of the Sea (Live)
  • 14.The Devil Cried
  • 15.Shadow of the Wind
  • 16.Ear in the Wall

Product Description:

Black Sabbath: Ronnie James Dio (vocals); Tony Iommi (guitar); Geoff Nicholls (keyboards); Geezer Butler (bass guitar); Vinny Appice, Bill Ward (drums).
While certainly not as long, prolific, or influential as the Ozzy Years, Black Sabbath's stint with Ronnie James Dio merits more than a mere footnote in the band's storied history, and Rhino's THE DIO YEARS aims to rectify the oversight. When Ronnie James Dio left Rainbow and joined Sabbath in 1979, the band was rapidly becoming commercially inconsequential, and Dio was hungry to prove himself as more than Ritchie Blackmore's frontman. The resulting two studio albums, HEAVEN & HELL and MOB RULES, not only re-established Sabbath's commercially viability but also announced Dio as one of the most undeniable metal singers of his era.
THE DIO YEARS focuses almost exclusively on tracks--sterlingly remastered--from the abovementioned records, but also includes "Children of the Sea" from LIVE EVIL and a few from the 1992 reunion flop, DEHUMANIZER. The real surprises of THE DIO YEARS are "Shadow of the Wind," "The Devil Cried," and "Ear in the Wall," three new songs recorded by Sabbath with Dio shortly before the compilation's release. THE DIO YEARS is a great start for casual Sabbath fans looking to get in a little deeper or for Dio fans looking for his great Sabbath moments in one place.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 86 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Black Sabbath

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 85,025
  • UPC: 081227999247
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)