The Move The Best of The Move

The Best of The Move
10% OFF
Rating 4.2
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  RPR 4686
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Repertoire


  • 1.Night Of Fear
  • 2.I Can Hear The Grass Grow
  • 3.Flowers In The Rain
  • 4.Fire Brigade
  • 5.Wild Tiger Woman
  • 6.Blackberry Way
  • 7.Curly
  • 8.Brontosaurus
  • 9.When Alice Comes Back To The Farm
  • 10.Turkish Tram Conductor Blues
  • 11.Ella James
  • 12.Tonight
  • 13.Chinatown
  • 14.Do Ya
  • 15.California Man
  • 16.Down On The Bay
  • 17.Disturbance
  • 18.Wave The Flag And Stop The Train
  • 19.Lemon Tree
  • 20.Walk Upon The Water
  • 21.Omnibus
  • 22.Lightning Never Strikes Twice
  • 23.Killroy Was Here
  • 24.Something (Italian Version)

Product Description:

This anthology from The Move features 24 tracks spanning the years 1966-72, including "Night of Fear," "I Can Hear the Grass Grow," "Flowers in the Rain," and "Wild Tiger Woman."
Liner Note Author: Chris Welch .
One has the marvel at the recent activity surrounding the Move -- from a ten-year period in which the legendary band was scarcely represented on vinyl, we're now at a point where practically every note they ever recorded for release is in print on CD, and there's even a collection of BBC performances as well as a few bootlegs circulating. This 24-song collection concentrates on their single A- and B-sides for Regal Zonophone, Deram, Harvest, Fly, and Ariola. The first 15 songs, from "Night of Fear" to "California Man," are arranged in A-side release order, and tracks 17-23 are devoted to the most relevant of their B-sides. This probably isn't the wisest way to have programmed the disc, since it means sliding through a multitude of styles and sounds across a five-year period twice, with a previously unissued Italian version of "Something" tagged on as the 24th song. Additionally, whether or not this is actually "the best of the Move" is a matter of contention -- one could make a case for a compilation of that name that would draw on a few of their album tracks as well. It also has competition from Omnibus, a double-CD set containing all of their single A- and B-sides, albeit at a heftier price. On the whole, however, this disc is a good compromise, assuming one doesn't mind the separation of the single sides -- the sound is very bright and almost startling in its clarity, to the point that even the mix on "Brontosaurus" is crisp, and acoustic guitar-based numbers like "Tonight" are glorious. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Move

Product Info:

  • UPC: 4009910468623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item