Steeleye Span Hark! The Village Wait

Hark! The Village Wait
15 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YF3C
on most orders of $25+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Moloney O'Connell & Keane ~ Kilkelly ~ $15.28

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Shanachie

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.73
"[O]ver quietly swarthy backdrops, their hard/soft voices sing luminous melodies of 19th century female woes."


  • Buy for $0.991.A Calling-On Song
  • Buy for $0.992.The Blacksmith
  • Buy for $0.993.Fisherman's Wife
  • Buy for $0.994.The Blackleg Miner
  • Buy for $0.995.The Dark-Eyes Sailor
  • Buy for $0.996.Copshawholme Fair
  • Buy for $0.997.All Things Are Quite Silent
  • Buy for $0.998.The Hills of Greenmore
  • Buy for $0.999.My Johnny Was a Shoemaker
  • Buy for $0.9910.Lowlands of Holland
  • Buy for $0.9911.Twa Corbies
  • Buy for $0.9912.One Night as I Lay on My Bed

Product Description:

Personnel: Tim Hart (vocals, guitar, electric guitar, banjo, dulcimer, fiddle, harmonium); Terry Woods (vocals, guitar, electric guitar, mandola, mandolin, concertina); Maddy Prior (vocals, banjo, dancer); Gay Woods (vocals, autoharp, concertina, bodhran); Ashley Hutchings (electric bass); Dave Mattacks, Gerry Conway (drums).
Steeleye Span's debut album, 1970's HARK! THE VILLAGE WAIT--a "wait" being a medieval village band--is a landmark of British folk-rock, a folk supergroup equivalent to the legendary Masked Marauders. Ashley Hutchings formed Steeleye Span after he left Fairport Convention, following disagreements with Sandy Denny over the latter band's direction, Martin Carthy naming it in homage to an obscure folk tune called "Horkstow Grange." This lineup also includes singers Tim Hart and Maddy Prior--who would become the band's core--along with Fairport drummer Dave Mattacks and the highly regarded husband and wife team of Gay and Terry Woods.
Whether newly written, as with the Morris-style "A Calling-On Song," or familiar ballads, the songs are uniformly excellent, as are the performances. This lineup actually disbanded immediately upon completing the album and never performed live, but HARK! THE VILLAGE WAIT is regardless one of the finest British folk-rock albums ever.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Steeleye Span

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 123,728
  • UPC: 016351795229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)