Woody Guthrie Woody Guthrie Sings Folk Songs

Woody Guthrie Sings Folk Songs
3 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YESK
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Smithsonian Folkways


  • Buy for $0.991.Hard Travelin'
  • Buy for $0.992.What Did the Deep Blue Sea Say
  • Buy for $0.993.The Rising Sun Blues
  • Buy for $0.994.Nine Hundred Miles - (TRUE instrumental)
  • Buy for $0.995.John Henry
  • Buy for $0.996.Oregon Trail
  • Buy for $0.997.We Shall Be Free
  • Buy for $0.998.Dirty Overhalls
  • Buy for $0.999.Jackhammer Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.Springfield Mountain
  • Buy for $0.9911.Brown Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Boll Weevil Blues
  • Buy for $0.9913.Guitar Blues - (TRUE instrumental)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Will You Miss Me?

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Woody Guthrie, Leadbelly, Cisco Houston.
Personnel: Woody Guthrie (vocals, guitar, fiddle, harmonica); Cisco Houston (guitar).
Liner Note Author: Pete Seeger .
Unknown Contributor Roles: Lead Belly; Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee.
The title WOODY GUTHRIE SINGS FOLK SONGS may seem self-evident, but remember, unlike most folk singers of his generation, Guthrie was known primarily as a songwriter. That makes this collection of traditional folk songs, which was originally released in 1962 (just after Guthrie's death) a somewhat rare item--Guthrie as interpreter, not instigator.
The songs are a varied lot, from "The Rising Sun Blues," a version of the chestnut "House of the Rising Sun"; to story songs like "John Henry," featuring vocals by Cisco Houston; and "The Boll Weevil." Though they were recorded at various points in Guthrie's long and productive career, all 14 tracks are so stylistically assured and thoughtfully performed that they sound like they could have been recorded at one session. In addition to the contributions from Houston, Guthrie's friend and mentor Leadbelly appears on a couple of tracks.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Woody Guthrie

Product Info

  • UPC: 093074000724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)