Folkways: The Original Vision

Folkways: The Original Vision
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YESE
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Smithsonian Folkways


  • Buy for $0.991.Bring Me a Little Water Sylvie
  • Buy for $0.992.Pretty Boy Floyd
  • Buy for $0.993.Do Re Mi
  • Buy for $0.994.I Ain't Got No Home Anymore
  • Buy for $0.995.Jesus Christ
  • Buy for $0.996.Cotton Fields
  • Buy for $0.997.Rock Island Line
  • Buy for $0.998.Grand Coulee Dam
  • Buy for $0.999.4, 4 and 9
  • Buy for $0.9910.Will Geer Reading Guthrie
  • Buy for $0.9911.Hard Travelling
  • Buy for $0.9912.Fannin Street
  • Buy for $0.9913.Philadelphia Lawyer
  • Buy for $0.9914.Hobo's Lullaby
  • Buy for $0.9915.Bourgeois Blues
  • Buy for $0.9916.Gray Goose
  • Buy for $0.9917.Irene
  • Buy for $0.9918.Vigilante Man
  • Buy for $0.9919.Gallis Pole
  • Buy for $0.9920.This Land Is Your Land
  • Buy for $0.9921.Talking Hard Work
  • Buy for $0.9922.Midnight Special
  • Buy for $0.9923.In the Pines
  • Buy for $0.9924.Pastures of Plenty
  • Buy for $0.9925.Car Song
  • Buy for $0.9926.We Shall Be Free

Product Description:

Personnel: Woody Guthrie (vocals, guitar); Lead Belly (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Authors: Anthony Seeger; Jeff Place; Guy Logsdon.
Folkways: The Original Vision has served to celebrate important dates for Smithsonian Folkways more than once. First off, the compilation of Woody Guthrie and Leadbelly songs was used to announce the label's new incarnation -- from Moses Asch's Folkways to the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways -- in 1989, and once again, in 2005, with six bonus cuts to celebrate the label's 15th anniversary. In both cases, the early recordings of Guthrie and Leadbelly have proved the perfect choice because of the quality of the performances and their symbolic importance. It was Asch, after all, who extensively recorded the works of both artists during a time when the mainstream recording industry turned a deaf ear to folk music. While there are more comprehensive recordings of both Guthrie and Leadbelly's material, Original Vision does contain a number of both performers' signature songs including "Cotton Fields," "Irene," "This Land Is Your Land," and "Midnight Special." The recording quality is rudimentary, but for the "one man, one guitar" aesthetic both men practiced, it's more than adequate. The are no previously unreleased cuts among the bonus material, but the six additional songs do modernize the album for the CD age. For those who've never had the good fortune to listen to the music of Guthrie or Leadbelly, or for those who'd like to celebrate Smithsonian's 15th year as a premiere independent label, Folkways: The Original Vision will fit the bill. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Woody Guthrie

Product Info

  • UPC: 093074000021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)