Joan Baez Very Early Joan (Live)

Very Early Joan (Live)
12 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JH2V
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream
  • 2.Willie Moore
  • 3.She's a Trouble Maker
  • 4.Tears in My Eyes
  • 5.Somebody Got Lost in a Storm
  • 6.The Water Is Wide
  • 7.Man of Constant Sorrow
  • 8.Freight Train
  • 9.Lady Gay (Child Ballad No.79)
  • 10.Johnny Cuckoo
  • 11.Lonesome Valley
  • 12.The Riddle Song
  • 13.Railroad Bill
  • 14.Little Darlin'
  • 15.In the Pines
  • 16.Pilgrim of Sorrow
  • 17.Where Have All the Flowers Gone
  • 18.Rambler Gambler
  • 19.Come All Ye Fair and Tender Maidens
  • 20.Hallowed Be Thy Name
  • 21.Twelve Gates to the City
  • 22.Silver Dagger

Product Description:

Solo performer: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar).
Recorded between 1961 & 1963. Includes original release liner notes by Joan Baez, Sr.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Originally released in 1982, the double-album-length compilation VERY EARLY JOAN collects recordings from the first three years of Joan Baez's career, songs from the era of Cambridge coffeehouses and the Newport Folk Festival. Folk music at this time remained largely unpoliticized, though tunes like Ed McCurdy's "Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream," the opening track here, foreshadowed the political commitments of the protest era. Most of VERY EARLY JOAN consists of plainly-recorded, live-sounding solo guitar and voice renditions of traditional American and British folk songs, although a handful of recordings made with bluegrass pickers the Greenbriar Boys, including an excellent version of Elizabeth Cotten's "Freight Train," are included. Joan Baez's early albums are rather uneven, and this exhaustive 74-minute compilation is an excellent precis of them.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Joan Baez

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,800
  • UPC: 015707944625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)