Joan Baez Joan Baez in Concert (Live)

Joan Baez in Concert (Live)
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  VAN 113-14
on most orders of $75
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.Once I Had a Sweetheart
  • 2.Jackaroe
  • 3.Gospel Ship (When We're Traveling Through the Air)
  • 4.The House Carpenter
  • 5.Copper Kettle
  • 6.Kumbaya
  • 7.What Have They Done to the Rain
  • 8.Black Is the Color of My True Love's Heart
  • 9.Danger Waters (Hold Me Tight)
  • 10.Long Black Veil
  • 11.Fennario
  • 12.Na Nobele Cardillo
  • 13.Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  • 14.We Shall Overcome
  • 15.Portland Town
  • 16.Queen of Hearts
  • 17.Manha de Carnaval
  • 18.Te Manha
  • 19.Geordie
  • 20.With God on Our Side

Product Description:

Solo performer: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar).
Recorded during Joan Baez's tours in August 1962 and October-November 1963.
"We Shall Overcome" recorded at Miles College, Birmingham, Alabama. Includes liner notes by Bob Dylan.
The 'queen of folk' was an accomplished live performer as this, the first of two In Concert albums proved. Accompanying herself on acoustic guitar, Baez brought her pure, virginal soprano to contrasting material. Her interpretations of Childe ballads 'Matty Groves' and 'The House Carpenter' are particularly moving, but an empathy with American folklore, including Woody Guthrie and the Carter Family, is equally apparent. Baez's reading of Malvina Reynolds' protest song, 'What Have They Done To The Rain', is especially arresting and inspired a later pop hit for the Searchers. This album helped take folk music out of the coffee-house circuit and into national consciousness.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Joan Baez

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 94,806
  • UPC: 015707011327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: