Boston Pops America the Beautiful

America the Beautiful
4 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $12.56
List Price: $13.95
You Save: $1.39 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  365QS
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Philips


  • Buy for $1.291.Fanfare for the Common Man, for brass & percussion (from Symphony No. 3)
  • Buy for $1.292.American Salute, for orchestra
  • Buy for $1.293.America the Beautiful (original title "Materna")
  • Buy for $1.294.This Land Is Your Land
  • Buy for $1.295.Rodeo, selections from the ballet (including "Four Dance Episodes"): Hoe-Down
  • 6.Battle Hymn of the Republic, The ("Mine Eyes Have Seen the Glory," words by Julia Ward Howe; music attributed to Steffe)
  • Buy for $1.297.Prayer of Thanksgiving
  • Buy for $1.298.The Entertainer, for piano
  • Buy for $1.299.Alexander's Ragtime Band, song
  • Buy for $1.2910.Strike Up the Band, song (from Strike Up The Band; both versions)
  • Buy for $1.2911.The Music Man, musical: 76 Trombones
  • Buy for $1.2912.When the Saints Go Marching In
  • Buy for $1.2913.The Stars and Stripes Forever, march for band
  • Buy for $1.2914.America, the Dream Goes On, for voice, chorus & orchestra
  • Buy for $1.2915.Variations on "America", arrangement for orchestra or band (after Charles Ives)

Product Description:

Full performer name: John Williams/Arthur Fiedler/The Boston Pops Orchestra.
John Williams/Arthur Fiedler/The Boston Pops Orchestra includes: John Williams, Arthur Fiedler (conductor).
Liner Note Author: R. Peter Munves.
Illustrator: Roger Motzkus.
Arrangers: E. Kremser; Alexander Courage; Billy May; Peter J. Wilhousky.
America the Beautiful is a collection of "typically American" songs performed by the Boston Pops Orchestra. Only a few selections are overtly patriotic ("American Salute (When Johnny Comes Marching Home)," "Battle Hymn of the Republic," and the title track); the main focus of the program is on quintessentially American composers such as Aaron Copland ("Fanfare for the Common Man," "Hoedown"), George Gershwin ("Strike Up the Band"), John Phillip Sousa ("The Stars and Stripes Forever"), Irving Berlin ("Alexander's Ragtime Band"), Scott Joplin ("The Entertainer"), Charles Ives ("Variations on 'America'"), and Meredith Willson ("Seventy-Six Trombones"), as well as traditional songs like "Prayer of Thanksgiving" and "When the Saints Go Marching In," plus the Woody Guthrie folk standard "This Land Is Your Land." While most of the material isn't exactly unfamiliar, that actually works in the disc's favor -- it comes off as a showcase of the range and depth of talent in American popular composition, and it's a fitting tribute. ~ Steve Huey

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Boston Pops

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,117
  • UPC: 028945439129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)