Sergio Mendes Four Sider

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.3
18 ratings
List Price: $5.98
You Save: 60¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  AM 6012

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: A&M


  • 1.Mas Que Nada
  • 2.One Note Samba / Spanish Flea
  • 3.Bim Bom
  • 4.Look Around
  • 5.Dock Of The Bay, (Sittin' On) The
  • 6.Watch What Happens
  • 7.With A Little Help From My Friends
  • 8.Look Of Love
  • 9.Norwegian Wood
  • 10.Wave
  • 11.After Midnight
  • 12.Chelsea Morning
  • 13.Fool On The Hill
  • 14.For What It's Worth
  • 15.Day Tripper
  • 16.Crystal Illusions (Memorias De Marta Sare)
  • 17.Pais Tropical
  • 18.Ye-Me-Le
  • 19.Lai Ladaia (Reza)
  • 20.Promise Of A Fisherman
  • 21.After Sunrise

Product Description:

Covering the extent of Brasil '66's output from 1966-1972, Four Sider is the best available retrospective for those new to Mendes' successful Brazilian pop outfit (the 45-song Very Best of Sergio Mendes & Brasil '66 offers a more comprehensive, yet potentially daunting overview). Typical of the band's original albums, Four Sider includes a mix of Brazilian material and '60s pop hits. Also on display is Mendes' winning blend of bossa nova rhythms and lounge-a-go-go elements (churning organ riffs and rock basslines), complimented by a variety of percussion, airy vocal harmonies, and his own jazz-informed keyboard contributions and horn charts. Highlights include renditions of the Beatles' "Nowhere Man" and Joni Mitchell's "Chelsea Morning," in addition to several Brazilian hits, like Jorge Ben's "Mais Que Nada" and Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Wave." Other Brazilian luminaries are represented as well, including Edu Lobo, Dori Caymmi, and Oscar Neves, not to mention Mendes himself ("Look Around"). Wrapping up the set are a few Brasil '77 cuts, which spotlight the post-bossa nova sounds of tropicalismo (Ben's "Pais Tropical" and Mendes' "Promise of a Fisherman"). This is a fine collection; one that shows Mendes wasn't simply another space-age bachelor, but an innovative musician and arranger as well. ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Sergio Mendes

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 30,648
  • UPC: 075021601222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: