Hank Snow Wanderin' On: The Best of the Yodeling Ranger

Wanderin' On: The Best of the Yodeling Ranger
10% OFF
Rating 3.0
3 ratings
List Price: $23.99
Your Price: $21.59
You Save: $2.40 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  YF8S
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 12/03, p.55
"...There really are some great performances here by one of the most important figures in country music history..."


  • 1.Wanderin' On
  • 2.Prisoned Cowboy
  • 3.Lonesome Blue Yodel
  • 4.My San Antonio Mama
  • 5.My Little Swiss Maiden
  • 6.The Blue Velvet Band
  • 7.Answer to "The Blue Velvet Band"
  • 8.The Hobo's Last Ride
  • 9.There's a Picture on Pinto's Bridle
  • 10.Broken Wedding Ring
  • 11.Galveston Rose
  • 12.Let's Pretend
  • 13.We'll Never Say Goodbye, Just Say So Long
  • 14.When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold
  • 15.Blue Ranger
  • 16.Just a Faded Petal From a Beautiful Bouquet
  • 17.Brand on My Heart
  • 18.On That Old Hawaiian Shore With You
  • 19.Linda Lou
  • 20.My Mother
  • 21.My Filipino Rose
  • 22.The Night I Stole Sammy Morgan's Gin
  • 23.Out on the Open Range
  • 24.Journey My Baby Back Home
  • 25.I Knew That We'd Meet Again

Product Description:

Recorded in Canada in the late 1930's and early 1940's.
In the 1930s, Nova Scotia-born country singer Hank Snow donned flamboyant cowboy outfits and performed throughout Canada under the name "the Yodelling Ranger," taking his cue from Jimmie Rodgers, "the Singing Brakeman." This massive, five-disc Bear Family set presents the early recordings of Snow, who was short in stature but possessed a large commanding voice. While Snow wouldn't become famous in the States until the '50s, he had a long string of '30s and '40s singles in his native country, most notably the Western lament "The Prisoned Cowboy" and the woe-is-me tale "Lonesome Blue Yodel." The collection also features some of Snow's first Hawaiian-themed songs, including "Blue for Old Hawaii" and "My Kalua Sweetheart." Some fans of Snow's initial years might find this compilation to be too intimidating (or expensive), and will be well served by Bear Family's honed-down 25-track WANDERIN' ON. Highly devoted Snow aficionados, however, will no doubt be rewarded by this remarkable set.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Hank Snow

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 116,557
  • UPC: 790051666125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm