Michael Jackson Hello World: The Motown Solo Collection (3-CD)

Hello World: The Motown Solo Collection (3-CD)
28 ratings
Sale: $44.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $40.69 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $9.29 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  YF5Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: August 18, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Hip-O Select

Description by OLDIES.com:

"Michael Jackson could make you forget he was so young." So writes Suzee Ikeda, a Motown artist and A&R assistant who was a creative confidante of a teenaged Michael, in her introductory essay to Hello World: The Motown Solo Collection, a 3-CD set that features every Michael Jackson recording released from 1971 to 1975, plus the Motown-era songs that were released after he left the company.

At the height of the Jackson 5 mania in 1970-71, a solo career for young Michael was not a given. But when Donny Osmond went solo while staying in the Osmonds family group, Michael went solo as well, and was given material that made him sound more mature. "Got To Be There," his first solo hit, featured a stunning, declamatory phrase that provided the name of this collection.

The LP Got To Be There, released in January 1972, was followed by Ben, after the No. 1 hit title song from a film about a pet rat. Ben was first issued with a cover featuring lurid artwork from the film, which was quickly replaced by a simpler image of Michael Jackson; this package reproduces both covers in the 48-page booklet.

Music And Me was next, featuring a few Adult Contemporary covers, followed by Forever, Michael, which had a harder dance age; it included the now-classic hits "We're Almost There" and "Just A Little Bit Of You."

Although Michael Jackson and the Jackson 5 left Motown in 1975 to go to Epic Records, that wasn't the end of the story. "One Day In Your Life," released in the aftermath of Michael Jackson's solo Off The Wall, turned into a No. 1 hit in the U.K. and top 40 AC in the U.S. Following the crazy ride of Thriller, Motown released Farewell My Summer Love, a batch of songs from the vault with contemporary overdubs; the title song went top 10 R&B. There's more: in 1986 Motown issued Looking Back To Yesterday, a collection of more vault masters - some with the Jackson 5 - that contained further unexpected gems.

Hello World has all of that and these extra gems: all nine songs from Farewell My Summer Love are included in their original, undubbed mixes. Plus, the label has unearthed the original mix of "Twenty-Five Miles," Michael's cover of the Edwin Starr hit that has previously been available only in a 1987 vault collection. It's all in a splendid, hard-backed 8"x 5.5" package with an introductory essay by Motown's Suzee Ikeda, a main essay by Mark Anthony Neal, pages of annotations, rare photos and repros of the LP jackets. It's deserving of the one of the greatest performers the world has ever known, at any age.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.78
4 stars out of 5 -- "Jackson summoned pains beyond the realm of adolescent experience on his aching cover of 'Ain't No Sunshine'....'Ben' remains eerie and extraordinary."
Entertainment Weekly - p.58
"[This] collection of Jackson's 1971-75 solo work is a sad but timely reminder of how gifted he was from the start." -- Grade: A-

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Ain't No Sunshine
  • 2.I Wanna Be Where You Are
  • 3.Girl Dont Take Your Love From Me
  • 4.In Our Small Way
  • 5.Got To Be There
  • 6.Rockin' Robin
  • 7.Wings Of My Love
  • 8.Maria (You Were The Only One)
  • 9.Love Is Here And Now You're Gone
  • 10.You've Got A Friend
  • 11.Ben
  • 12.Greatest Show On Earth
  • 13.People Make The World Go Round
  • 14.We've Got A Good Thing Going
  • 15.Everybody's Somebody's Fool
  • 16.My Girl
  • 17.What Goes Around Comes Around
  • 18.In Our Small Way
  • 19.Shoo Be Doo Be Doo Da Day
  • 20.You Can Cry On My Shoulder
  • 21.Don't Let It Get You Down (original mix)
  • 22.You've Really Got A Hold on Me (original mix)
  • 23.Melodie (original mix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.With A Child's Heart
  • 2.Up Again
  • 3.All The Things You Are
  • 4.Happy (Love Theme From Lady Sings The Blues)
  • 5.Too Young
  • 6.Doggin' Around
  • 7.Euphoria
  • 8.Morning Glow
  • 9.Johnny Raven
  • 10.Music And Me
  • 11.Were Almost There
  • 12.Take Me Back
  • 13.One Day In Your Life
  • 14.Cinderella Stay Awhile
  • 15.We've Got Forever
  • 16.Just A Little Bit Of You
  • 17.You Are There
  • 18.Dapper-Dan
  • 19.Dear Michael
  • 20.I'll Come Home To You
  • 21.Girl You're So Together (original mix)
  • 22.Farewell My Summer Love (original mix)
  • 23.Call On Me (original mix)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.When I Come Of Age
  • 2.Teenage Symphony
  • 3.I Hear A Symphony
  • 4.Give Me Half A Chance
  • 5.Love's Gone Bad
  • 6.Lonely Teardrops
  • 7.You're Good For Me
  • 8.That's What Love Is Made Of
  • 9.I Like You The Way You Are (Don't Change Your Love On Me)
  • 10.Who's Lookin' For A Lover
  • 11.I Was Made To Love Her
  • 12.If 'N I Was God
  • 13.To Make My Father Proud (original mix)
  • 14.Here I Am (Come And Take Me) (original mix)
  • 15.Twenty-Five Miles (original mix)
  • 16.Don't Let It Get You Down
  • 17.You've Really Got A Hold on Me
  • 18.Melodie
  • 19.Touch The One You Love
  • 20.Girl You're So Together
  • 21.Farewell My Summer Love
  • 22.Call On Me
  • 23.Here I Am (Come And Take Me)
  • 24.To Make My Father Proud

Product Description:

Released only a matter of days after Michael Jackson's tragic June 2009 passing but in the works long before that, Hip-O Select's HELLO WORLD: THE MOTOWN SOLO COLLECTION collects the entirety of his solo recordings for Motown in a triple-disc set. Although Michael had some major hits during this period--notably "Got to Be There," "Ben," and "Rockin' Robin," all Top Five hits on both the pop and Black Singles charts--it's fair to call these years Jackson's awkward adolescence, perched partway between the preteen dynamo of the Jackson Five and the cool, confident entertainer of OFF THE WALL. There's nothing new here for collectors, but much of this material has been out-of-print for a long time, so it's useful putting the somewhat forgotten recordings of a major artist back in circulation even if the music doesn't hold any new insights. Essentially, these three discs confirm the basic narrative of Michael Jackson's career to be correct: he was drifting at Motown as a solo artist, trapped both by his adolescence and the unwillingness of the label to give him anything to do other than follow shifting trends from bubblegum soul to disco. Naturally, the aforementioned big hits retain their power and there are some gems scattered throughout each of the discs--and those gems come entirely from Jackson's pure, natural charisma--which may be reason enough for serious fans to get this handsomely produced set.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Michael Jackson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,282
  • UPC: 602517924697
  • Shipping Weight: 0.60/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)