The Midnighters Thee Complete Midniters: Songs of Love, Rhythm & Psychedelia (4-CD)

Thee Complete Midniters: Songs of Love, Rhythm &
5 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $30.98
You Save: $4 (13% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  EAAC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Micro Werks

Description by

"Thee Complete Midniters" is a stunning 4-CD box set released on Micro Werks that represents the crown jewel collection from the kings of East L.A. music from the '60s. Amazingly enough, this is the first time that the four original Thee Midniters albums (that originally came out from 1965-1969 & today are nearly impossible to find on vinyl), have ever been released on CD!!! And as an added attraction, each CD contains bonus tracks/super rarities that were pulled from B-sides of their mega rare 45 singles that never were released on any of their four LPs. Use "Thee Complete Midniters" box set as your introduction to the group that asked you to take a trip down "Whittier Blvd." and who asked you if you knew how to Pony in "Land Of A Thousand Dances." Thee Midniters still remain among the greatest groups in the history of Chicano Rock 'n' Roll.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Whittier Blvd.
  • 2.Stubborn Kind of Fellow
  • 3.That's All
  • 4.Come Back Baby
  • 5.Empty Heart
  • 6.I Need Someone
  • 7.Land of a Thousand Dances
  • 8.To Be with You
  • 9.Slow Down
  • 10.Giving Up on Love
  • 11.Money
  • 12.Johnny B. Goode
  • 13.Evil Love
  • 14.It's Not Unusual
  • 15.Heat Wave
  • 16.Land of a Thousand Dances, Pt. 1 [Live]
  • 17.Land of a Thousand Dances, Pt. 2 [Live]
  • 18.Heat Wave [Instrumental]
  • 19.Ball o' Twine

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Love Special Delivery
  • 2.Love Makes Me Do Foolish Things
  • 3.Do You Love Me
  • 4.Soul and Inspiration
  • 5.Good Lovin'
  • 6.When a Man Loves a Woman
  • 7.Strangers in the Night
  • 8.Gloria
  • 9.Love Makes the World Go Round
  • 10.I Found a Peanut
  • 11.Don't Go Away
  • 12.Are You Angry
  • 13.It'll Never Be Over for Me
  • 14.Thee Midnite Feeling
  • 15.Hey Little Girl
  • 16.Are You Angry [Alternate Take]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Everybody Needs Somebody to Love
  • 2.Cheatin' Woman
  • 3.Could It Be
  • 4.Thee Walking Song
  • 5.Dreaming Casually
  • 6.Never Knew I Had It So Bad
  • 7.Yesterday
  • 8.Devil with a Blue Dress / Good Golly, Miss Molly
  • 9.Making Ends Meet
  • 10.Chile con Soul
  • 11.Welcome Home Darling
  • 12.Town I Live In
  • 13.Big Ranch (El Rancho Grande)
  • 14.Dragon-Fly
  • 15.Looking out a Window
  • 16.Jump, Jive and Harmonize
  • 17.Tu Despedida
  • 18.You're Gonna Make Me Cry
  • 19.Ballad of Cesar Chavez [English Version]
  • 20.Copla de Cesar Chavez [Spanish Version]

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Whittier Blvd.
  • 2.Goin' out of My Head
  • 3.Land of a Thousand Dances
  • 4.Walk on By
  • 5.Sad Girl
  • 6.Everybody Needs Somebody to Love
  • 7.Brother Where Are You?
  • 8.Breakfast on the Grass
  • 9.Strangers in the Night
  • 10.Love Special Delivery
  • 11.That's All
  • 12.Chicano Power
  • 13.Never Give You Up
  • 14.Balla Cinderella

Product Description:

Personnel: Little Willie G. (vocals, guitar, harmonica, trombone, piano); Romeo Prado (vocals, trombone); Ronny Figueroa (vocals, organ, congas); Jimmy Espinoza (vocals, bass guitar); Roy Marquez (vocals); George Dominguez (guitar, mandolin); Larry Rendon (flute, saxophone, piano, organ); Danny Lamont (piano, drums).
Audio Remasterer: Jerry Peterson .
Liner Note Author: Richie Unterberger.
Recording information: Sherwood Recorders, North Hollywood, CA; Stereo Masters, Hollywood, CA.
Photographers: George "Rico" Rodriguez; Larry Rendon; Gene Aguilera; George Rodriguez; Danny Lamont; Jimmy Espinoza; William Garcia.
An East L.A. band from the 1960s, Thee Midniters are a bit of a well-kept secret. Led by the soulful vocals of Willie Garcia, the guitar playing of George Dominguez, and the ferocious drumming of George Salazar, and featuring horns, timbales, and congas, Thee Midniters essentially set the template for later pop horn bands like Blood, Sweat & Tears, and Chicago. However, almost any musical form was in play for this band, including British Invasion, R&B, salsa, gospel and straight-out soul. This wonderful set collects the group's entire recorded output on four discs, and including a stomping rendition of "Land of a Thousand Dances", covers of soul ballads like "The Town I Live In" and "Giving Up On Love," Chicano-themed material such as "The Ballad of C‚sar Ch vez," and minor (minor in the sense that few people really heard them) hits "Whittier Boulevard," "Love Special Delivery" and "That's All." Tons of alternate versions, demos and live tracks are also collected in this well-thought out collection.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Midnighters

Product Info

  • UPC: 813411010021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.62/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)