Buckwheat Zydeco Ultimate Collection

Ultimate Collection
8 ratings
13 copies available
Price: $12.56
List Price: $13.95
You Save: $1.39 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EA97
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Hip-O Records


  • 1.I Bought A Raccoon
  • 2.Bim Bam, Thank You Mam
  • 3.Turning Point
  • 4.Zydeco Boogaloo
  • 5.Ya Ya
  • 6.Buck's Nouvelle Jole Blone
  • Buy for $0.997.On A Night Like This
  • Buy for $0.998.Hot Tamale Baby
  • Buy for $0.999.Ma 'Tit Fille
  • Buy for $0.9910.Hey Good Lookin' - (featuring Dwight Yoakam)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Buck's Hot Rod
  • Buy for $0.9912.Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad? - (featuring Eric Clapton)
  • Buy for $0.9913.People's Choice
  • Buy for $0.9914.Five Card Stud
  • Buy for $0.9915.Secret Of Love
  • Buy for $0.9916.Drivin' Old Grey
  • Buy for $0.9917.Make A Change
  • Buy for $0.9918.Where There's Smoke There's Fire
  • Buy for $0.9919.Zydeco Honky Tonk

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Stanley "Buckwheat" Dural Jr. (vocals, accordion, organ, melodica, keyboards); Dwight Yoakam (vocals); Eric Clapton, Melvin Veazie, Robert James Ahearn, Michael Melchione, Paul Senegal (guitar); Althony Bulter (alto saxophone); Dennis Taylor (tenor & baritone saxophones); Kevin Harris (tenor saxophone); Roger Lewis, Steve Berlin (baritone saxophone); James "Sax Appeal DuRant (saxophone); Greg Davis, Efrem Towns, Curtis Watson, Jr., Calvin Landry (trumpet); Steven "Coolbone" Johnson (trombone); Lee Allen Zeno (bass); Kevin Menard, Herman "Rat" Brown, Nathaniel Jolivette, Carlo Nuccio (drums); Wilbert Willis, Patrick Landry, Elijah Cudges (rubboard); Mark Linett (tambourine); Lisa Mednick, Allison Young (background vocals).
Producers include: J.D. Miller, Scott Billington, Hammond Scott, Ted Fox, David Hidalgo.
Compilation producers: Jeff Hannusch, Dana G. Smart.
Includes liner notes by Jeff Hannusch.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (Universal Mastering Studios West, North Hollywood, California).
Personnel: Dwight Yoakam (vocals); Eric Clapton, Melvin Veazie, Robert James Ahearn, Michael Melchione, Paul Senegal, Selwyn Cooper (guitar); Anthony Butler (alto saxophone); Dennis Taylor (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Kevin Harris (tenor saxophone); Roger Lewis, Steve Berlin (baritone saxophone); Efrem Towns, Calvin Landry, Gregory Davis , Lee Thornburg (trumpet); Nathaniel Jolivette (drums, percussion); Herman Brown, Kevin Menard, Carlo Nuccio (drums); Elijah Cudges, Wilbert Willis, Patrick Landry (rub-board); Mark Linett (tambourine).
Photographers: Paul Harris ; Joanne Savio.
Hip-O's 2000 retrospective The Ultimate Collection may fall short of the promise of the title, but it comes damn close, offering 19 tracks of prime Buckwheat Zydeco from the late '70s, '80s, and '90s. Sure, there are some great tracks missing, and it could be argued the label-specific compilations give a more focused listening experience, but this is the best-available overview of his entire career and nearly as good an overview as could be hoped for. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Buckwheat Zydeco

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,169
  • UPC: 731454234627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)