Koko Taylor I Got What It Takes

I Got What It Takes
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EA6D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 28, 1991
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Alligator Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.113
4 stars out of 5 -- "[S]he sang truculent blues, indebted to Bessie Smith, Big Maybelle, Ma Rainey but made unmistakably her own due to an inimitable bark and bawl."


  • 1.Trying To Make A Living
  • 2.I Got What It Takes
  • 3.Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean
  • 4.Voodoo Woman
  • 5.Be What You Want To Be
  • 6.Honkey Tonkey
  • 7.Big Boss Man
  • 8.Blues Never Die
  • 9.Find A Fool
  • 10.Happy Home
  • 11.That's Why I'm Crying

Product Description:

Personnel: Koko Taylor (vocals); Mighty Joe Young, Sammy Lawhorn (guitar); Abb Locke (saxophone); Bill Heid (keyboards); Cornelius Boyson (bass); Vince Chappelle (drums).
Producers: Koko Taylor, Joe Young, Bruce Iglauer.
Recorded at Sound Studios, Chicago, Illinois. Includes original release liner notes by Amy "Atomic Mama" VanSingel.
The queen's first album for Alligator, and still one of her very best to date. A tasty combo sparked by guitarists Mighty Joe Young and Sammy Lawhorn and saxist Abb Locke provide sharp support as the clear-voiced Taylor belts Bobby Saxton's "Trying to Make a Living," and Magic Sam's "That's Why I'm Crying," her own "Honkey Tonkey" and "Voodoo Woman," and Ruth Brown's swinging "Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean." ~ Bill Dahl

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Koko Taylor

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 117,130
  • UPC: 014551470625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)