Canned Heat The Very Best of Canned Heat [Capitol]

The Very Best of Canned Heat [Capitol]
34 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $14.38
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.07 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.91 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YFK9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 23, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.65
"Along with its hits, it includes three live tracks from the 1967 Monterey Pop Festival....Not a bad introduction to the group's powerful blues and boogie..."


  • 1.On The Road Again
  • 2.Goin' Up The Country
  • 3.Amphetamine Annie
  • 4.Rollin' And Tumblin' - (live at Monterey Pop Festival)
  • 5.Dust My Broom - (live at Monterey Pop Festival)
  • 6.Bull Frog Blues - (live at Monterey Pop Festival)
  • 7.Henry's Shuffle - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Fried Hockey Boogie
  • 9.Same All Over
  • 10.Time Was
  • 11.Low Down (And High Up)
  • 12.Poor Moon
  • 13.Let's Work Together
  • 14.Future Blues
  • 15.Human Condition
  • 16.Whiskey And Wimmen' - (with John Lee Hooker)
  • 17.Long Way From L.A.
  • 18.Rockin' With The King - (with Little Richard)
  • 19.Rock & Roll Musicc

Product Description:

Canned Heat: Al Wilson (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Bob "The Bear" Hite (vocals, harmonica); Larry Taylor , Tony De La Barreda, Richard Hite (bass guitar); Adolfo "Fito" de la Parra, Frank Cook (drums); Henry Vestine, Joel Scott Hill, James Shane, Ed Beyer.
Personnel: Alan Wilson (vocals, guitar, harp, harmonica); Bob Hite (vocals, harp); Little Richard (vocals, piano); Harvey Mandel, Henry Vestine, Joel Scott Hill, James Shane (guitar); Ed Beyer (keyboards); Adolfo de la Parra (drums).
Additional personnel: John Lee Hooker (vocals); Harvey Mandel, Little Richard.
Audio Mixer: Evren G”knar.
Liner Note Author: Steve Roeser.
Recording information: The Monaterey International Pop Festival, Monterey, CA.
Photographer: Frank Driggs.
With the glut of Canned Heat compilations available, what makes this 19-song Capitol/EMI release better than the rest? For starters, the previously unreleased track "Henry's Shuffle," featuring guitarist Henry Vestine and recorded in 1968, which was undoubtedly the zenith year for the band; the inclusion of "Low Down (And High Up)"; the rare Liberty B-side "Time Was," and the rollicking 1970 date with Little Richard, "Rockin' With the King." Also included are several tracks that both the novice and die-hard fan alike would find essential -- three live cuts from the Monterey Pop Festival, a nod to the 1971 collaborative effort with John Lee Hooker on "Whiskey and Wimmen'," and two Woodstock era classics culled from the Boogie with Canned Heat album, "Amphetamine Annie" and "Fried Hockey Boogie." And, of course, what would a Canned Heat compilation be without the bona fide hippie hits: "On the Road Again," "Goin' Up the Country" and "Let's Work Together." These are the original versions, digitally remastered and sounding great, so ignore the glut, this really is the Very Best of Canned Heat. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 34 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Canned Heat

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,560
  • UPC: 724356014626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)