Doc Watson The Essential Doc Watson (Live)

The Essential Doc Watson (Live)
11 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.99 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.99 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YFFE
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.Tom Dooley
  • 2.Alberta
  • 3.Froggie Went a-Courtin'
  • 4.Beaumont Rag
  • 5.St. James Hospital
  • 6.Muskrat
  • 7.Down in the Valley to Pray
  • 8.Blue Railroad Train
  • 9.Rising Sun Blues
  • 10.Shady Grove
  • 11.My Rough & Rowdy Ways
  • 12.The Train That Carried My Girl From Town
  • 13.Black Mountain Rag
  • 14.I Was a Stranger
  • 15.Blueridge Mountain Blues
  • 16.Country Blues
  • 17.Groundhog
  • 18.Little Orphan Girl
  • 19.Blackberry Blossom
  • 20.Going Down This Road Feeling Bad
  • 21.Rambling Hobo
  • 22.Little Omie Wise
  • 23.Handsome Molly
  • 24.Whitehouse Blues
  • 25.I Want to Love Him More
  • 26.Way Downtown

Product Description:

Recorded live at the Newport Folk Festivals in 1963 & 1964.
Adapters: Doc Watson; Dock Boggs.
Personnel: Doc Watson (vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, harmonica); Arnold Watson (vocals, banjo); Mrs. General Dixon Watson, Clint Howard (vocals); Grady Martin (guitar, dobro); Merle Watson (guitar); Shot Jackson (dobro); Don Stover (banjo); Fred Price, Gaither Carlton, Tommy Jackson, Buddy Spicher (fiddle); Floyd Cramer (piano); Buddy Harman (drums).
Recording information: Newport Folk Festival, Newport, RI (1963/1964).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Elsie McWilliams; Jimmie Rodgers .
Arrangers: Doc Watson; Dock Boggs.
The Essential Doc Watson includes 26 tracks of Watson in his most traditional, folksy mode, with his stunning flat-picking guitar technique and warm, unadorned singing in fine form. The album's first half focuses on studio sessions -- some solo, some with accompaniment -- while the second half is taken from Watson's mid-'60s Newport Folk Festival appearances.
The performances throughout are top-notch. Watson's flawlessly fluid guitar work is a wonder (most notably on instrumentals like "Beaumont Rag"), and he sounds as at ease singing a cappella ("Down in the Valley to Pray") as he does backed by additional musicians ("The Train That Carried My Girl from Town"). The program includes traditional songs ("Tom Dooley" and "Little Omie Wise"), as well as tunes by Jimmy Rodgers ("I Was a Stranger") and Dock Boggs ("Country Blues"), with Watson bringing each song to life with his incisive, sincere renditions. As a one-stop, economical introduction to this folk legend, The Essential Doc Watson is hard to beat. ~ Rovi Staff

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Doc Watson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,454
  • UPC: 015707454629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)