John Martyn Sweet Little Mysteries: The Island Anthology (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.8
12 ratings
Your Price: $25.19
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  UVIS 5222452

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 17, 1994
  • Label: Universal I.S.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bless The Weather
  • 2.Head and Heart
  • 3.Glistening Glyndebourne
  • 4.Solid Air
  • 5.Over The Hill
  • 6.Don't Want To Know
  • 7.I'd Rather Be The Devil
  • 8.May You Never
  • 9.Fine Lines
  • 10.Eibhli Ghail Chiuin Ni Chearbhaill
  • 11.Make No Mistake
  • 12.One Day Without You
  • 13.Lay It All Down
  • 14.Root Love
  • 15.Sunday's Child
  • 16.Spencer The Rover
  • 17.You Can Discover
  • 18.Call Me Crazy

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Couldn't Love You More
  • 2.Certain Surprise
  • 3.Dancing
  • 4.Small Hours
  • 5.Dealer
  • 6.One World
  • 7.Some People Are Crazy
  • 8.Lookin' On
  • 9.Johnny Too Bad
  • 10.Sweet Little Mystery
  • 11.Hurt In Your Heart
  • 12.Baby Please Come Home
  • 13.Sapphire
  • 14.Fisherman's Dream
  • 15.Angeline
  • 16.Send Me One Line

Product Description:

Import-only two CD compilation from the British Folk/Rock legend highlighting his critically successful years with Island Records. Along with Nick Drake, John Martyn was one of the most compelling British singer/songwriters to emerge during the 1970s. Martyn specialized in an acoustic, bluesy Folk sound, but he was also a restless experimentalist, running his guitar through all manner of effects processors and incorporating elements of Jazz, Pop, and ambient music. This double disc set is a survey of Martyn's work for Island Records, ranging from 1971's folky Bless The Weather through 1980's pop-oriented Grace And Danger. In between, listeners are treated to a comprehensive sampling of the artist's talents, from his sonically expansive guitar-scapes to his poetic, meticuloussense of songcraft. The music from Martyn's early-to-mid '70s period stands up the best, but the later work selected here is strong too. This is an excellent introduction back to front.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for John Martyn

Product Info:

  • UPC: 731452224521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items