John Martyn Live at Leeds and More (2-CD)

Live at Leeds and More (2-CD)
3 ratings
Price: $12.59
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HC5Y
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 30, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Recall Records UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.86
4 stars out of 5 -- "A more illustrative example of Martyn's legendary duality is hard to imagine: the raucous, pugnacious pub-goer butting heads with the tender, spiritual poet."
Uncut (magazine) - p.114
3 stars out of 5 -- "LIVE AT LEEDS began with an 18-minute epic, 'Outside In', saturated in hypnotic echo, with an organic yet logical structure..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Outside In
  • 2.Solid Air
  • 3.Make No Mistake
  • 4.Bless This Weather
  • 5.The Man in the Station
  • 6.I'd Rather Be the Devil
  • 7.My Baby Girl
  • 8.You Can Discover
  • 9.So Much in Love with You
  • 10.Clutches
  • 11.Mailman

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Big Muff
  • 2.Over the Rainbow
  • 3.Yes We Can
  • 4.Step It Up
  • 5.Dealer
  • 6.Beverly
  • 7.Looking On
  • 8.The River
  • 9.Root Love
  • 10.Anna

Product Description:

Personnel includes: John Martyn, Paul Kossoff (guitar); Danny Thompson (bass); John Stevens (drums).
Liner Note Author: Drew Heatley.
Recording information: Leeds University (10/1975).
This 1975 live album captures singer-songwriter John Martyn at his peak. Martyn emerged as part of Britain's traditional folk scene, but as the 1970s wore on he became increasingly experimental with his sound, dabbling in jazzy structures and creating expansive guitar-scapes with a host of effects. This concert features Martyn performing with bassist Danny Thompson, and the rapport between the two is fluid and kinetic. The duo, freed up by the live setting, stretch the song "Outside In" to almost 20 minutes, and lend a fierce, near-psychedelic propulsion to Skip James's "I'd Rather Be the Devil." Martyn sounds as good here as he does on his studio albums, making LIVE AT LEEDS a fine example of his compelling art.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Martyn

Product Info

  • UPC: 636551455923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)