George Jones The Gospel Collection (2-CD)

The Gospel Collection (2-CD)
117 ratings
Price: $7.19
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.79 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HC5V
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 8/03, p.100
3 stars out of 5 - "...The pain in the songs is sublimated in Jones' still-pure voice. Get over the culture shock, and you may feel comforted..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Amazing Grace
  • 2.It Is No Secret
  • 3.Just a Little Talk With Jesus
  • 4.Where We'll Never Grow Old
  • 5.Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  • 6.Why Me Lord?
  • 7.I'll Fly Away
  • 8.Precious Memories - (featuring Patti Page)
  • 9.Just a Closer Walk With Thee
  • 10.In the Garden
  • 11.Lonesome Valley
  • 12.When Mama Sang (The Angels Stopped to Listen)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Peace in the Valley
  • 2.What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  • 3.Softly and Tenderly
  • 4.Lily of the Valley
  • 5.The Old Rugged Cross
  • 6.Leaning on the Everlasting Arms
  • 7.Family Bible
  • 8.Mansion Over the Hilltop - (featuring Vestal Goodman)
  • 9.If I Could Hear My Mother Pray Again
  • 10.How Beautiful Heaven Must Be
  • 11.Jesus Hold My Hand
  • 12.I Know a Man Who Can - (featuring Sheri Copeland / Barry "Frosty" Smith)

Product Description:

Personnel: George Jones (vocals, guitar); Bruce Atkins (acoustic guitar); Brent Mason, Reggie Young, J.T. Corenflos, John Willis (electric guitar); Paul Franklin, John Hughy (steel guitar); Glen Duncan (fiddle); Gary Prim (keyboards); Michael Rhodes (bass); Eddie Bayers (drums); Louis Nunley, Bergen White, Curtis Young, Mark Ivey, Ray Walker, Michael Black, Gordon Stoker, Millie Kirkum, Sheri Copeland, The Smith Family (background vocals).
Personnel: George Jones (vocals, guitar); Bruce Watkins (acoustic guitar); John Willis, Reggie Young , J.T. Corenflos , Brent Mason (electric guitar); Paul Franklin (steel guitar); Glen Duncan (fiddle); Gary Prim (keyboards); Eddie Bayers (drums); Curtis Young, Michael Black, Barry Charles, Mark Ivey, Mylon LeFevre, Ray C. Walker, Shemekia Copeland, Bergen White, Louis Dean Nunley, Gordon Stoker (background vocals).
Recording information: Emerald Studios, Nashville, TN.
Photographer: Jim Shea.
Arranger: Vestal Goodman.
Although country icon George Jones had made gospel albums before this 2003 recording, both solo and with duet partner Tammy Wynette, this one bears a special significance. The two-disc set of spirituals marks the first time he'd tackled such material since an almost-fatal 1999 car accident. The mishap is said to have put him on spiritual notice, so to speak, and inspired this album (though he'd done some secular work in between). The arrangements, quite appropriately, steer clear of the customary gospel trappings and are squarely in the Billy Sherrill/classic Nashvile mold that suits Jones so well. The man's voice remains a marvel of tone and emotion, and hearing him lay into the likes of "Just a Closer Walk With Thee," "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms," and even the ubiquitous "Amazing Grace" is nothing short of heart-stopping. No other country singer can emotionally inhabit a song as fully as Jones, and hearing a lifelong hell-raiser try to mend his ways is doubly affecting.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 117 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for George Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 078636706320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)