Brenda Lee Anthology, Volumes 1 & 2 (2-CD)

Anthology, Volumes 1 & 2 (2-CD)
31 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HAXH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: MCA Nashville

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Jambalaya (On the Bayou) - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.992.Bigelow 6-200
  • Buy for $0.993.One Step at a Time
  • Buy for $0.994.Dynamite
  • Buy for $0.995.Little Jonah (Rock on Your Steel Guitar)
  • Buy for $0.996.Let's Jump the Broomstick
  • Buy for $1.297.Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree
  • Buy for $0.998.Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home
  • Buy for $1.299.Sweet Nothin's
  • Buy for $0.9910.Weep No More My Baby
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Want to Be Wanted
  • Buy for $0.9912.That's All You Gotta Do
  • Buy for $1.2913.I'm Sorry
  • Buy for $0.9914.Emotions
  • Buy for $0.9915.If You Love Me (Really Love Me)
  • Buy for $0.9916.You Can Depend on Me
  • Buy for $0.9917.Kansas City
  • Buy for $0.9918.Dum Dum
  • Buy for $0.9919.Fool #1
  • Buy for $0.9920.So Deep

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Break It to Me Gently
  • Buy for $0.992.Everybody Loves Me But You
  • Buy for $0.993.Heart in Hand
  • Buy for $0.994.Someday (You'll Want Me to Want You)
  • Buy for $1.295.All Alone Am I
  • Buy for $0.996.My Coloring Book
  • Buy for $0.997.Losing You
  • Buy for $0.998.I Wonder
  • Buy for $0.999.The Grass Is Greener
  • Buy for $0.9910.My Whole World Is Falling Down
  • Buy for $0.9911.As Usual
  • Buy for $0.9912.Is It True?
  • Buy for $0.9913.Too Many Rivers
  • Buy for $0.9914.Coming on Strong
  • Buy for $0.9915.Johnny One Time
  • Buy for $0.9916.Nobody Wins
  • Buy for $0.9917.Big Four Poster Bed
  • Buy for $0.9918.Rock On Baby
  • Buy for $0.9919.Tell Me What It's Like
  • Buy for $0.9920.Broken Trust

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Diana Haig.
ANTHOLOGY, VOLUMES 1 & 2 is available on cassette as 2 separate volumes.
Personnel: Brenda Lee (vocals); The Oak Ridge Boys (vocals); Don Helms, Herschel Hewarth, Grady Martin, Hank Garland, Harold Bradley, Edward O'Conner, Jay Berliner, Jerry Kennedy, Jimmy Page, Al Caiola, Ray Edenton (guitar); Buddy Emmons (steel guitar); Charlie McCoy (harmonica); Boots Randolph (saxophone, trombone, vibraphone); Sam "The Man" Taylor (saxophone); Don Sheffield, William K. McElhiney (trumpet); Floyd Cramer (piano, organ); Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano, keyboards); Marvin Hughes, Andrew Ackers, Owen Bradley, Bill Pursell (piano); Nicholas Tagg (organ); Dave Carey (vibraphone); Douglas Kirkham, Buddy Saltzman, Jimmy Crawford , Farris Coursey, Buddy Harman (drums); Holiday Sisters, The Anita Kerr Singers, The Ray Charles Singers (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Diana Haig.
Recording information: Bradley Film & Recording Studio, Nashville, TN (09/17/1956-09/05/1980); Bradley's Barn, Mount Juliet, TN (09/17/1956-09/05/1980); Columbia Recording Studio, New York, NY (09/17/1956-09/05/1980); London, England (09/17/1956-09/05/1980); Pythian Temple, New York, NY (09/17/1956-09/05/1980); Woodland Sound Studios, Nashville, TN (09/17/1956-09/05/1980).
Director: Jack Pleis.
Arranger: Marty Manning.
This collection is an excellent mixture of Brenda Lee's big pop hits and the more overtly country-oriented material that the Georgia native began recording in the late 1960s. The 40-track ANTHOLOGY VOLUMES 1 & 2 isn't complete--Lee had over 50 charting pop and country hits from 1960's "Sweet Nothin's" into the 1980s--but the two-disc set is well compiled and hits all of her high points. Though best known for "I'm Sorry" and "Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree," Lee was a varied, sensitive singer, able to handle sorrowful ballads and sassy rockers with equal aplomb, approaching her material with a verve that belied her surprisingly young age. (Lee was only 11 when she recorded her first single.) The casual fan probably won't need anything beyond this collection, but those intrigued by these early blends of country twang and rock & roll will find plenty more where this came from.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 31 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 4.0 Missing Songs Music Lover: from St. Louis, MO US -- August, 9, 2008

For whats on this 2 CD collection, Its well worth the money. BUT, this collection doesn't cover all her hits on Decca. It would take another 2 CD collection to cover the 24 songs that are still missing on this collection. If the label would ever print a Volume 3 & 4, I would be one of the first to buy it.

Rating 4.0 memories Music Lover: from Mason, OH US -- February, 16, 2008

I have tis on tape & it brought back a lot of childhood memories. I never cosidered her a "country" artist, but looking back I can see why that classification has been given. I believe it's an excellent album.

Get Email Alerts for Brenda Lee

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 74,760
  • UPC: 008811038427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.48/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)