Michael Doucet A New Orleans Visit: Before Katrina (Live)

A New Orleans Visit: Before Katrina (Live)
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  V96W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 22, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.J'Ai Pass‚ Devant Ta Porte
  • 2.Jog a Plombeau, La
  • 3.Hey! La Bas
  • 4.Malinda
  • 5.Bosco Stomp
  • 6.Tasso
  • 7.Creole Blues
  • 8.I'm Alone Because I Love You
  • 9.The Blues Won't Let Me Take My Rest
  • 10.Henry's Bounce
  • 11.The Little Red Rooster
  • 12.Cold Chills
  • 13.Zydeco et La Encore
  • 14.Joe Pitre Got Two Women
  • 15.Baby Please Don't Go
  • 16.Just a Closer Walk with Thee
  • 17.I'll Fly Away
  • 18.Sing On

Product Description:

Personnel: Henry Gray (vocals, piano); Lionel Batiste (vocals, bass drum); Miss Lollypop (vocals); David Doucet (guitar); Lars Edegran (steel guitar); Michael Doucet (violin); Sammy Rimington (clarinet); Cedric G. Shepperd, Elliott "Stackman" Callier (tenor saxophone); Kermit Ruffins (trumpet); Corey Henry (trombone); Jeffrey Hill (tuba); Benny Jones (snare drum).
Recording information: Donna's Bar; Home Of Bethany Bultman; Treme District.
Author: Chris Strachwitz.
Editor: Chris Strachwitz.
Photographer: Chris Strachwitz.
Arrangers: Anita B. Bowers; Michael Doucet; Sammy Rimington.
Recorded just a few months before Hurricane Katrina changed the musical scene in New Orleans both figuratively and literally, the music on this semi-historic album (and accompanying film) is a throwback to a time far before the hurricane's actions. Mainstays of the old New Orleans sounds in their various forms are present -- Michael and David Doucet represent Cajun music, Sammy Rimington represents the old clarinet-in-the-street sound, Henry Gray plays some stomping piano blues, Sunpie Barnes represents the zydeco contingent, and the TremŠ Brass Band carry up the rear with large-scale parade music. All of the musicians present are masters of their craft, and are well known in the realm of the local New Orleans sound. However, it's fairly traditional music here, looking backward. There's energy, but it's buried in nostalgia in many cases. Where the album really breaks away from the trappings of nostalgia, though, is in the swamp music -- the Doucets always play some mean Cajun, and in combination with Sunpie Barnes' zydeco the energy gets ramped way, way up. For a newcomer to the New Orleans sound, this album will make a fair introductory textbook opening. However, some revivalism (… la Kermit Ruffins), more modern jazz (the Marsalis tribe), or soul and R&B forces (even the Nevilles) would have filled out the display of forms nicely. A touch more of the blues would have been welcome, too. ~ Adam Greenberg

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Michael Doucet

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297053423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)