Johnny Winter I'm a Bluesman

I'm a Bluesman
39 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YFXJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Virgin Records Us


  • 1.I'm a Bluesman
  • 2.Cheatin' Blues
  • 3.I Smell Smoke
  • 4.Lone Wolf
  • 5.So Much Love
  • 6.The Monkey Song
  • 7.Shake Down
  • 8.Sweet Little Baby
  • 9.Pack Your Bags
  • 10.Last Night
  • 11.That Wouldn't Satisfy
  • 12.Sugar Coated Love
  • 13.Let's Start All Over Again

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Winter (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar); Johnny Winter; Paul Nelson (guitar, electric guitar); Reese Wynans (keyboards); Scott Spray (electric bass, bass guitar); Tom MacDonald, Brad Hallen (electric bass); Tom Hambridge (drums, percussion, background vocals); Wayne June (drums); James Montgomery Band (harmonica).
Audio Mixers: Dick Shurman; Tom Hambridge; David Axelbaum; Ducky Carlisle.
Recording information: Carriage House, Stamford, CT; Room 9 From Outer Space, South Boston, MA.
Editor: Scott Baggett.
Photographer: Ken Schles.
On guitar-slinger Johnny Winter's 2004 outing, I'M A BLUESMAN, his spicy style of playing keeps with a legacy dating back to the late 1960s, when he was playing on the club circuit of tiny Beaumont, Texas. Tapping Roy Buchanan/Albert Collins producer Dick Shurman to man the console, Winter wisely brings his touring band into the studio with him.
Although the albino axe-wielder's guitar tone sounds oddly compressed, his still-impressive playing does much to dispel any distractions. Such is the case when the sixtysomething Texan plays the spurned-lover card, be it on the organ-soaked howler "Cheatin' Blues" or the subtler, but no less suspicious, "I Smell Smoke." Despite nearly being eligible for Social Security, the rail-thin Winter still opens it up, as evidenced by the howling and crackling slide guitar adorning "Lone Wolf" and the equally tempestuous stomper "Sweet Little Baby." Winter also tips his Stetson to Lazy Lester and Hop Wilson with the former's "Sugar Coated Love," served up as a snappy, mid-tempo shuffle, and the latter's "That Wouldn't Satisfy," cast as a mournful, acoustic steel-guitar lament.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.6
Based on 39 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Winter

Product Info

  • UPC: 724359008127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)