Nick Colionne Keepin' It Cool

Keepin' It Cool
9 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YFWS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Narada

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.82
"[C]ompelling and much more of a total smooth-jazz package than his previous work....'This Is the Song' is a just-about-perfect contempo number that builds to a soaring, irresistible hook..."
Vibe - p.151
"[He] bridges the gap between old school and new through his mixture of R&B, rock, and blues."


  • 1.Can You Feel It
  • 2.Keepin' It Cool
  • 3.Always Thinkin' of You
  • 4.If You Ask Me
  • 5.You Were There For Me
  • 6.This Is the Song
  • 7.John L
  • 8.From Me to You
  • 9.A Moment With You
  • 10.Liquid
  • 11.Catch Me
  • 12.Rainy Night in Georgia
  • 13.High Flyin' - (live, Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Nick Colionne (guitar); Mike Logan (Fender Rhodes piano); Steve Cole (keyboards, programming); Richard Patterson (bass guitar); Lenny Castro (percussion).
Emerging from its early days as a new age and world music mecca, Narada is quickly becoming a haven for veteran and up-and-coming smooth jazz artists in the mid-2000s. While famous names like Ramsey Lewis and Jeff Lorber provide an anchor for the bunch, funky and melodic cats like this Wes Montgomery-influenced, Chicago-based electric guitarist bode well for the genre's soulful future. He pays homage directly to his guitar hero on the breezy, atmospheric, and decidedly retro "John L," whose solos amidst the trippy soundscapes seem like spiritual meditations. The hook on that track is as irresistible as the ones that shine throughout, and that, after all, is -- along with catchy grooves -- the mark of a successful song in this genre. While it's clear he can jam, Colionne is intent on creating memorable pieces a listener can hum for days, and succeeds right off the bat with the brash "Can You Feel It" and the sexy, moody title track. Others like "If You Ask Me" and "Liquid" tap into a rich blues influence -- which in the future he should definitely explore even further. If there's one minor drawback, it's that he's so conscious of radio airplay time that he doesn't stretch as much as you can tell he wants to. Though they're buried at the end of the collection, it's worth getting through the first ten tracks to hear his rich vocal cover of "Rainy Night in Georgia" and "High Flyin'," the exciting 2004 hit that established him as a presence in smooth jazz. ~ Jonathan Widran

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Nick Colionne

Product Info

  • UPC: 094633733121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)