Dinah Washington The Diva Series

The Diva Series
Hurry! Only 2 copies left Sorry no back-orders
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $4 (33% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  JKCD 2471
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Verve


  • Buy for $0.991.If I Were a Bell
  • Buy for $0.992.You Do Something to Me
  • Buy for $1.293.What a Diff'rence a Day Makes
  • Buy for $0.994.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • Buy for $0.995.Caravan
  • Buy for $0.996.Teach Me Tonight
  • 7.Blue Skies
  • Buy for $0.998.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • Buy for $0.999.Invitation
  • Buy for $1.2910.Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby
  • Buy for $0.9911.Nothing Ever Changes My Love For You
  • Buy for $0.9912.Bargain Day
  • Buy for $0.9913.Goodbye
  • Buy for $0.9914.Perdido
  • Buy for $0.9915.There'll Be a Jubilee
  • Buy for $0.9916.I'll Close My Eyes

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dinah Washington (vocals); Anthony Ortega (alto saxophone, clarinet); Julian "Cannonball" Adderley (alto saxophone); Danny Bank (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet); Joe Newamn, Ernie Royal, Clark Terry (trumpet); Junior Mance (piano); George Barnes (guitar); Milt Hinton (bass).
Recorded between 1954 & 1961. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
This is part of Verve's Diva Series.
Personnel: Dinah Washington (vocals); George Barnes, Kenny Burrell, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Hal McKusick (flute, alto saxophone); Jerome Richardson (clarinet, saxophone, tenor saxophone); Anthony Ortega (clarinet, alto saxophone); Lucky Thompson (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Danny Bank (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Herb Geller, Rick Henderson, Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone); Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis , Georgie Auld, Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Charles Davis (baritone saxophone); Don Elliott (trumpet, vibraphone, bongos); Clark Terry, Clifford Brown , Doc Severinsen, Ernie Royal, Joe Newman , Joe Wilder, Maynard Ferguson, Jimmy Maxwell, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Kai Winding, Quentin Jackson, Urbie Green, Billy Byers, Gus Chappell (trombone); Tommy Mitchell (bass trombone); Clarence "Sleepy" Anderson (piano, celesta); Joe Zawinul, Junior Mance, Patti Bown, Wynton Kelly (piano); Ed Thigpen, Jimmy Cobb , Jimmy Crawford , Max Roach, Osie Johnson, Panama Francis (drums).
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Recording information: Fine Sound, New York, NY (06/15/1954-08/16/1961); Hollywood, CA (06/15/1954-08/16/1961); Los Angeles, CA (06/15/1954-08/16/1961); Mercury Sound Studio, New York, NY (06/15/1954-08/16/1961); New York, NY (06/15/1954-08/16/1961).
Illustrator: Gary Kelley.
Photographer: Chuck Stewart.
Arrangers: Ernie Wilkins; Hal Mooney; Quincy Jones; Belford Hendricks.
Part of Verve's Diva Series, this Dinah Washington collection serves as a solid introduction to her dynamic work. Featuring such popular Washington mainstays as "What a Diff'rence a Day Made," "If I Were a Bell," and "I'll Close My Eyes," this is a timely introduction to one of the jazz world's most versatile artists. While by no means definitive, at over 14 tracks one could do worse with a single-disc overview than to check this one out first. ~ Matt Collar
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Dinah Washington

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,011
  • UPC: 044006521527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)