Robert Cray Heavy Picks: The Robert Cray Collection

Heavy Picks: The Robert Cray Collection
19 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EJG5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Mercury

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 12/17/99, p.87
"...a solid survey of Cray's 1980-'97 breakthrough years." - Rating: B+


  • 1.Phone Booth
  • Buy for $0.992.Forecast (Calls For Pain)
  • Buy for $1.293.Smoking Gun
  • Buy for $0.994.Playin' In The Dirt
  • Buy for $0.995.Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark
  • Buy for $0.996.Too Many Cooks
  • Buy for $0.997.Dream, The - (with Albert Collins)
  • Buy for $1.298.Right Next Door (Because Of Me)
  • Buy for $0.999.Consequences
  • Buy for $0.9910.Bad Influence
  • Buy for $1.2911.I Guess I Showed Her
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Shiver
  • Buy for $0.9913.Trick Or Treat
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Was Warned

Product Description:

Personnel: Robert Cray (vocals, guitar); Albert Collins, Tim Kaihatsu (guitar); Curtis Salgado (harmonica); David Li (tenor saxophone); Nolan Smith (trumpet); David Stewart (piano); Allen Batts (organ); Peter Boe, Jim Pugh, Mike Vannice (keyboards); Richard Cousins, Johnny B. Gayden, Karl Severeid (bass); David Olson, Kevin Hayes, Tom Murphy, Casey Jones (drums);
Lee Spath (percussion).
The Memphis Horns: Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet).
The Miami Horns: Edward Manion (tenor saxophone); Mark Pender (trumpet).
Midtown Memphis Rhythm Section: Antoine Salley, O. Wahington, Night Train Clemons, Madison Cooper (percussion).
Producers include: Bruce Bromberg, Dennis Walker, Robert Cray, Bruce Iglauer,
Dick Shurman.
Compilation producers: Robert Cray, Bas Hartong, Mike Kappus.
Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
Digitally remastered by Suha Gur (Universal Music Studios, Edison, New Jersey).
Personnel: Robert Cray (vocals, guitar); Tim Kaihatsu (guitar); Curtis Salgado (harmonica); Warren Rand (saxophone); David Li, Ed Manion, Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet, trombone); Mark Pender (trumpet); Allen Batts (organ); Mike Vannice, Jim Pugh , Peter Boe (keyboards); Tom Murphy (drums); Lee Spath (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Jeff Hendrickson; John Hampton; Justin Niebank; Bill Dashiell.
Throughout the '80s, Robert Cray and Stevie Ray Vaughan were heralded as the "new hopes" for the blues. Although Vaughan's fiery blues-based playing made this sobriquet more appropriate, Cray's style took as much from Memphis soul as it did Chicago blues. HEAVY PICKS compiles the cream of Cray's material released between 1980 and 1997.
Combining a fluid guitar sound and a creamy vocal style, Robert Cray wrote music often based on the fragility of relationships between men and women. His high-caliber songwriting not only found Cray being covered by the likes of Albert King ("Phone Booth") and Eric Clapton ("Bad Influence"), but also landed him in the Top 40 ("Smoking Gun"). Although covers of Willie Dixon ("Too Many Cooks") and Otis Redding ("Trick or Treat") bridged the blues and soul divide, Cray's R&B strengths leapt out more in his collaborations with the Memphis Horns. On songs such as "Consequences," "Forecast (Calls for Pain)," and "I Guess I Showed Her," Cray's singing not only channels the influence of soul legend O.V. Wright, but his crisp guitar playing also points to Steve Cropper's Stax/Volt legacy.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Robert Cray

Product Info

  • UPC: 731454655729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)