Screamin' Jay Hawkins At Last

At Last
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZVE 15008
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Valley

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - 5-6/99, pp.70-71
"...Hawkins continues to turn out hair-raising vocals and outlandish songs....To paraphrase Robert Johnson, it looks like he'll be screamin' to his end."


  • 1.Listen
  • 2.Because of You
  • 3.Coulda', Woulda', Shoulda'
  • 4.Potluck
  • 5.You Took Me
  • 6.Deceived
  • 7.I'll Be There
  • 8.I Played the Fool
  • 9.Shut Your Mouth When You Sneeze
  • 10.Life Goes On
  • 11.You Want Love
  • 12.Make Me Happy
  • 13.I Shot the Sheriff - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Screamin' Jay Hawkins (vocals, piano); Frank Ash (guitar); T-Bone Tommy Burroughs (violin); Jim Spake (saxophone); East Memphis Slim (keyboards, percussion); Sam Shoop (bowed bass); David Hood (bass); Roger Hawkins (drums); William Brown, Bertram Brown, Kelley Hurt (background vocals).
Recorded at Sam Phillips Recording Service, Memphis, Tennessee in July 1997.
These 1997 recordings are among Screamin' Jay Hawkins' last sessions. After various pairings with sub-par backing or producers who weren't the optimum choice, AT LAST is a winner, produced by Jim Dickinson at Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis. In drummer Roger Hawkins and bass player David Hood, Hawkins has one of the best rhythm sections he's had in years. The dozen originals stay close to Hawkins' favored bluesy and soulful grooves, with the subject matter sticking to his usual themes of voodoo, cheating, and bodily functions.
On "Coulda', Woulda', Shoulda'," Hawkins' enormous voice gets quasi-operatic as he trades off lines with singer Kelley Hurt. "I'll Be There" has a laid back tropical feel. It's the most relaxed setting on the album. The set closes with a cover of Bob Marley's "I Shot the Sheriff," a song that Hawkins transforms into his own testimonial.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Screamin' Jay Hawkins

Product Info

  • UPC: 618321500828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)