Chicken Shack The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions (3-CD)

The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions (3-CD)
13 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  EJCX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Stomu Yamashta's Go / Stomu Yamashta ~ Go Too $19.74

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: February 6, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Blue Horizon

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.It's Okay With Me Baby
  • 2.When My Left Eye Jumps
  • 3.The Letter
  • 4.Lonesome Whistle Blues
  • 5.When the Train Comes Back
  • 6.San-Ho-Zay
  • 7.King of the World
  • 8.See See Baby
  • 9.First Time I Met the Blues
  • 10.Webbed Feet
  • 11.You Ain't No Good
  • 12.What You Did Last Night
  • 13.Hey Baby
  • 14.Baby's Got Me Crying
  • 15.The Right Way Is My Way
  • 16.Get Like You Used to Be
  • 17.Pony and Trap
  • 18.Tell Me
  • 19.A Woman Is the Blues
  • 20.When the Train Comes Back

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Worried About My Woman
  • 2.Six Nightss in Seven
  • 3.I Wanna See My Baby
  • 4.Remington Ride
  • 5.Fishing in Your River
  • 6.Mean Old World
  • 7.Sweet Sixteen
  • 8.I'd Rather Go Blind
  • 9.Night Life
  • 10.The Road of Love
  • 11.Look Ma, I'm Cryin'
  • 12.Evelyn
  • 13.Reconsider Baby
  • 14.Weekend Love
  • 15.Midnight Hour
  • 16.Tears in the Wind
  • 17.Horse & Cart
  • 18.The Way It Is
  • 19.Still Worried About My Woman
  • 20.Anji

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Smartest Girl in Town
  • 2.Hideway
  • 3.The Things You Put Me Through
  • 4.Diary of Your Life
  • 5.Pocket
  • 6.Never Ever
  • 7.Sad Clown
  • 8.Maudie
  • 9.Telling Your Fortune
  • 10.Tired Eyes
  • 11.Some Other Time
  • 12.Going Round
  • 13.Andalucian Blues
  • 14.You Knew You Did You Did
  • 15.She Didn't Use Her Loaf / Maudie

Product Description:

Chicken Shack: Paul Raymond, Stan Webb (acoustic guitar); Big Walter Horton (harmonica); Johnny Almond, Bud Beadle (alto saxophone); Don Fey (tenor saxophone); Geoff Condon, Terry Noonan, Roderick M Lee, Alan Ellis (trumpet); Christine Perfect (organ); Andy Silvester (6-string bass); Dave Bidwell (conga drum); Mike Vernon (finger cymbals); Allison Young (background vocals).
Formed and led by guitarist/vocalist Stan Webb, Chicken Shack were one of the first bands to be signed to the Blue Horizon label in the mid-'60s. As of this compilation's release in 2006, Webb was still fronting a version of the group. While never attaining any success in the States, Chicken Shack were well known in the U.K., with fleeting success second only to John Mayall and labelmates Fleetwood Mac. Webb's Freddie King-styled guitar and vocalist/pianist Christine Perfect's (later McVie) singing were the major draws to this second-tier British blues band, but neither were strong enough to carry the group's success to the U.S. market. This three-disc set collects the band's entire output for the imprint from 1967-1969 and includes alternate takes, singles, and B-sides (56 tracks in all), and also features terrific liner notes by label head/producer Mike Vernon. Perfect stayed for two of four releases for the label, exiting before the recording of 1969's 100 Ton Chicken. Hence she appears on about half of this disc, leaving after the U.K. hit single "I'd Rather Go Blind." Webb's often wobbly but amiable singing is an acquired taste, so Perfect's husky, smooth vocals and classy blues piano runs were major contributions to the band, and strong points they never adequately replaced. Occasional use of horns distinguished Chicken Shack from both Mac and Savoy Brown, another band very much in the Shack style and one with whom they swapped members. These three discs include the contents of four albums and assorted singles, with much of this music hard to obtain. The remastering is excellent, too, and it's safe to say that Chicken Shack have never sounded better. But the band wasn't strong or innovative enough to maintain interest over these four albums, making this all-inclusive set essential only for fans, collectors, and those looking to research the roots of Christine Perfect's pre-Fleetwood Mac sultry blues-tinged pop. Everyone else can make due with 2004's The Very Best of Chicken Shack, a single disc that cherry-picks the better tunes from the Blue Horizon era. ~ Hal Horowitz

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Chicken Shack

Product Info

  • UPC: 184719000923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.42/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)