Complete Studio Recordings (2-CD)

Complete Studio Recordings (2-CD)
2 ratings
Price: $17.09
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YGFV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Delilah
  • 2.Darn That Dream
  • 3.Parisian Throughfare
  • 4.Jordu
  • 5.Sweet Clifford
  • 6.I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance
  • 7.Stompin' At the Savoy
  • 8.I Get a Kick Out of You
  • 9.I'll String Along With You
  • 10.Joy Spring
  • 11.Mildama
  • 12.These Foolish Things
  • 13.Daahoud

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Gerkin For Perkin
  • 2.Take the "a" Train
  • 3.Lands End
  • 4.Swingin'
  • 5.George's Dilemma
  • 6.If I Love Again
  • 7.The Blues Walk
  • 8.What Am I Here For
  • 9.Cherokee
  • 10.Jacqui
  • 11.Sandu - (alternate take)
  • 12.Sweet Clifford (Clifford's Fantasy) - (alternate take)
  • 13.I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance - (alternate take)
  • 14.Joy Spring - (alternate take)
  • 15.Mildama - (alternate take)
  • 16.Daahoud - (alternate take)
  • 17.Lands End - (alternate take)
  • 18.Blues Walk, The - (alternate take)

Product Description:

Personnel: Clifford Brown (trumpet); Harold Land (tenor saxophone); Max Roach (drums); Richie Powell (piano).
Liner Note Author: Steve Potts .
Recording information: Los Angeles (02/23/1955-02/25/1955); New York (02/23/1955-02/25/1955); Los Angeles (08/02/1954-08/06/1954); New York (08/02/1954-08/06/1954).
This Essential Jazz Records collection brings together all the master studio takes that Sonny Rollins recorded as part of the celebrated Max Roach-Clifford Brown Quintet in 1956, some months before Brownie's death in a car crash in June of that year. (Both pianist Richie Powell, brother of Bud, and Powell's wife also perished in the tragic accident.) Actually, Harold Land was the regular saxophonist for the group before Rollins substituted on a gig one evening. Sonny ultimately recorded a few albums' worth of material with the Quintet, which has appeared on AT BASIN STREET and MORE STUDIES IN BROWN on Emarcy, and on SONNY ROLLINS PLUS 4 on Prestige. The saxophonist was just emerging as an individual voice at this time, but he was more than ready to trade fours with Brown, simply one of the greatest musicians that jazz has produced, as well as Max Roach, who would go on to contribute significantly to Rollin's masterpiece, SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS in 1957.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Clifford Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436028694112
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)