Grandmaster Flash Essential Mix: Classic Edition

Essential Mix: Classic Edition
Rating 4.2
11 ratings
Your Price: $12.56
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  AXK9
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 6/20/02, p.83
4 stars out of 5 - "...Simply greater than the sum of its parts. And the parts are great....required reading for anyone who dares step behind the wheels of steel."
Entertainment Weekly - 5/31/02, p.109
"...Flash re-creates that stellar era [before hip-hop] on this mix of tracks that ignores borders, bridging James Brown's frenetic funk breaks to Cyanide's elastic bass lines..." - Rating: A-


  • 1.Intro
  • 2.I Can't Wait
  • 3.I Found Lovin'
  • 4.Before I Let Go
  • 5.We Got the Funk
  • 6.Rapture
  • 7.Last Night a DJ Saved My Life
  • 8.Cavern
  • 9.I'll Do Anything for You
  • 10.Bra
  • 11.Walking on Sunshine
  • 12.Rock Your World
  • 13.Love Is the Message
  • 14.Give It Up or Turnit a Loose
  • 15.It's Just Begun
  • 16.You're the One for Me
  • 17.Planet Rock

Product Description:

This is a continuous in-the-mix CD compiled and mixed by DJ Grandmaster Flash.
Compilation producer: Grandmaster Flash.
Recorded at Reddlite Studios, Staten Island, New York.
Audio Mixer: Grandmaster Flash.
Recording information: Reddlite Studios, Stanten Island (The House Of Sin).
Photographer: Mo Daoud.
This is not a collection of classic Grandmaster Flash 12-inch jams from back in the day (try the essential MESSAGE FROM BEAT STREET for that) but Grandmaster Flash's own live mix of 16 classic dance tracks from the 1970s and '80s, combined on the master's own deck. It is a rather brilliant selection of tracks, from the pop fluff of Nu Shooz's "I Can't Wait" (containing possibly the coolest synth sound of the '80s) to acknowledged genre classics like Liquid Liquid's punk-funk milestone "Cavern" (the birthplace of the famous bass line from Flash's later hit "White Lines") and Indeep's "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life." Flash keeps the cutting and scratching to a minimum, preferring to let the songs groove on their own. This isn't a full-length display of bravura technique like the genre-defining masterpiece "The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheels of Steel," but as a suite of old-school dance-floor jams, it's pretty hard to beat.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Grandmaster Flash

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 110,130
  • UPC: 081227823221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)