James Brown Make It Funky - The Big Payback: 1971-1975 (2-CD)

Make It Funky - The Big Payback: 1971-1975 (2-CD)
28 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YGD8
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 2/97, p.56
5 Stars (out of 5) - "...the diamond mine for hip-hop samplers, par excellence....Brilliant, revealing selections..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Escape-ism
  • Buy for $0.992.Hot Pants, Pts. 1 & 2
  • Buy for $0.993.I'm a Greedy Man
  • 4.Make It Funky, Pts. 1-4 - (mono)
  • Buy for $0.995.King Heroin
  • Buy for $0.996.I Got Ants in My Pants (And I Want to Dance)
  • Buy for $0.997.There It Is
  • Buy for $0.998.Get on the Good Foot
  • Buy for $0.999.Don't Tell It - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Got a Bag of My Own
  • Buy for $0.9911.Down and Out in New York City - (previously unreleased, with spoken intro)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Think
  • Buy for $0.9913.Make It Good to Yourself (Interlude) - (previously unreleased)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.The Payback
  • Buy for $0.992.Stoned to the Bone - (mono)
  • Buy for $0.993.Mind Power - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • Buy for $0.994.World of Soul - (previously unreleased)
  • 5.Papa Don't Take No Mess
  • Buy for $0.996.Coldblooded - (previously unreleased, undubbed version)
  • Buy for $0.997.I Can't Stand It "76"
  • Buy for $0.998.My Thang
  • Buy for $0.999.Funky President (People It's Bad) - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2910.I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Problems
  • Buy for $0.9912.Turn on the Heat and Build Some Fire
  • Buy for $0.9913.Hot Pants - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: James Brown (vocals, electric piano, organ); Hearlon "Cheese" Martin (vocals, guitar); St. Clair Pinckney (vocals, flute, tenor saxophone); Jerone "Jasaan" Sanford, Russell Crimes (vocals, trumpet); Fred Wesley (vocals, trombone); Bobby Byrd (vocals, piano, organ); Fred Thomas (vocals, bass); John "Jabo" Starks (vocals, drums); Hugh McCracken (electric guitar); Jimmy "Chank" Nolen (guitar, background vocals); Maceo Parker (flute, alto saxophone, background vocals); Alfred "Pee Wee" Ellis (tenor & baritone saxophones); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Isiah "Ike" Oakley, Darryl "Hasaan" Jamison (trumpet, background vocals); Marvin Stamm, Randy Brecker, John Faddis, Lew Soloff (trumpet); Richard Tee (organ); Buster Williams (bass); Billy Cobham, Steve Gadd (drums).
Producer: James Brown.
Compilation producers: Harry Weinger, Alan Leeds.
Engineers: Bob Both, Lowell Dorn, Ron Lenhoff.
Recorded between April 8, 1971 and March 18, 1975. Includes liner notes by Harry Weinger and Alan Leeds.
Digitally remastered by Gary N. Mayo (PolyGram Studios).
Personnel: James Brown (vocals, rap vocals, organ); Bobby Byrd (vocals, organ); Martha Harvin, Vicki Anderson, Danny Ray (vocals); Sam T. Brown (guitar, acoustic guitar); David Spinozza (guitar, bass guitar); Robert Coleman , Hearlon "Cheese" Martin, Jimmy Nolen, Joe Beck , Charlie Brown (guitar); Hugh McCracken (electric guitar); Maceo Parker (flute, alto saxophone); Joe Farrell (flute, tenor saxophone, horns); Seldon Powell (flute, tenor saxophone); David Sanborn, Jimmy Parker (alto saxophone); Pee Wee Ellis (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Eldee Williams, Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Russell Crimes, Isiah "Ike" Oakley, Jerone "Jasaan Sanford" Melson, Darryl "Hasaan" Jamison, Danny Stiles, Jon Faddis, Marvin Stamm, Randy Brecker (trumpet); James Buffington (French horn); Fred Wesley (trombone); Richard Tee (organ); John Morgan (drums, tambourine); Jimmy Madison, John Starks, Steve Gadd , Billy Cobham, Allan Schwartzberg (drums); Johnny Griggs (congas, tambourine); Johnny Scotton, Jeanette "Baby" Washington, Bobby Roach, Maretha Stewart, Hilda Harris, Tasha Thomas (background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: Harry Weinger; Alan Leeds.
Recording information: A&R Studios, New York, NY (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); And R Studios (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Bobby Smith Studios (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Capri (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Capricorn Studios (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); King Studios (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); King Studios, Cincinnati, OH (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Rodel Studios (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Rodel Studios, Washington DC (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Soundcraft (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Starday Studios (04/08/1971-03/18/1975); Starday Studios, Nashville, TN (04/08/1971-03/18/1975).
Arrangers: David Matthews ; Fred Wesley.
As the Godfather of Soul moved into the thoroughly funky days of the early '70s, his music became looser, rawer, and groovier than ever. This two-disc set is the definitive collection of Brown's work from that period, replete with Fred Wesley's punchy horn arrangements, the JBs' airtight, seamless grooves, and Mr. Dynamite's gut-pulling grunts and paint-peeling screeches. While many consider this era to be the twilight of the chart-ruling success Brown enjoyed in the '60s, there is no denying the overwhelmingly infectious power of these cuts.
"Hot Pants," "Get It On The Good Foot," "Think," "The Payback," and "Funky President" are alone worth the price of the set, but listeners get 21 slices of uncut funk to boot. The JBs' trademark sound is in full flower here--bright, steady guitar riffs, snares cracking like loud punches to the head, the horns adding accents and embellishments, the bass extending tendrils to reach your legs and get them moving. Through it all, the man himself once again claims his right to the get-down crown.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,663
  • UPC: 731453305229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)